The hardest part and the miraculous creation of a community

in #hive4 years ago

I don't know what to do. I have been with Steem for 3 years and now there is another blockchain, Hive, that is vying for my attention, wanting my time and offering a new home. I am okay with experimentation and trying new things and I am okay with the technology. But...

image.png

How do I explain this change I'm going through to my wife?

For three plus years I have lived and breathed Steem and she has heard it all before.

"I am going to try this online thing" (early 2017)
"If I just write each night." (early - mid 2017)
"See, I told you there was hope" (mid 2017)
"We going to the moon baby!" (late 2017)
"It will recover, this is just a small correction" (early 2018)
"It is okay, it is part of the process" (2018-mid 2019)
"There are worse hobbies" (mid 2019 - present)

Ok, that might not be a completely accurate representation of what was said, but over the last three years my wife has heard a massive amount about Steem, what it is, what it could be and the potential it holds for us as a family - and now I have to say...

Oh yeah - Btw, I'm on Hive now.

For those of you who are in the same boat, the solution is pretty easy.

Don't tell your wife!

The trick is to introduce the concept very slowly when questioned with small things like:

"Yes, the logo is red now"
"Yes, I know you like blue better..."

and when asked:

"How is Steem going?"

The answer is:

"Still going. I'm also trying this new Hive thing, it is similar to before, but with some tweaks."

By slowly dropping names, images, the occasional link to a Hive article and avoiding using the Steem name, over the space of a few months, your wife will be primed for the news that you are moving over to a new blockchain, which will come as no surprise as she will have already guessed that your interest in Steem has finally waned, but wanted you to come to your own conclusions, so it didn't seem like her idea.

Incepted.


On to business.

image.png

image.png

It looks like Huobi and Binance are both going to be airdropping HIVE onto the holders who have their STEEM locked up in stake on their exchanges. What I have been asking is what pairs they are going to list HIVE with, and I hope others are asking this question too. As far as I know, they can airdrop without giving a listing, but a listing would obviously be fantastic to get off the bat. Not only that, they will essentially be guaranteed volume from the first moment and have the potential to support crypto's largest decentralized colony from the first block.

image.png

As you can see, there was an immediate reaction with Volume going from about 50 BTC on Binance to 750 in the space of a few hours.

Any news from Bittrex? Bittrex and the Steem community have a long relationship and it would be brilliant if that would continue with the rebranded Hive userbase. I think there is a lot of value to be had and I am hoping that in the future, the Hive communities will work with the many exchanges to develop better gateways, no matter where one lives in the world.

So far, I have noticed somewhat of a sea-change in attitude of some people as the difficult decisions to accept that Steem will never be the same and embrace the potential of Hive takes hold. What has been a position of melancholy, some are genuinely getting excited as they let go and open up to the possibilities.

Since I have been on Steem, there has always been the issue with when one arrived, with a very narrow selection being very early and benefiting greatly from the start, before the economics started to be adjusted. This gave much more than a running start to a few users. While there will still be a wide range of starting points, at the drop of that first block, thousands of users will be:

[ Hive originals ]

I find this incredibly exciting thinking that with that first block, an entire community will be created from nothing, yet hold the collective information and all of the relationships that have been developed up until that time. In many ways, this event is history making, as entire community is cloned and given a new lease on life - and there is no central point at all - Hive really will be a creation of the collective. The immaculate blockchain conception.

We owe Steem a lot, as it has shaped us and evolved us into who we are as a group today, but now we have the chance to go forward as us together, without the baggage of the past - if we so choose.

Fast.
Scalable.
Powerful.

These words are meant for the technological capabilities of the Hive blockchain - but I believe they better represent the values of a decentralized community looking to grow and fulfill its potential.

Taraz
[ to the Hive ]

Sort:  

Let me help you.

“Baby it’s going awesome I’m about to double my token holdings!

Steem was so successful warren buffets buddy bought it and spawned another version.

It’s got lots of media attention. You’re a lucky lady!”

"Same size investment, Twice the fun" :D

I hope people are able to leave the "baggage" of the past in the past. I wonder how account numbers are going to be, are they going to be alphabetical I mean we will all have the same start date, but will abh12345 have a lower member number than me, and will I have a lower member number than you? Who will be member number 1? On steem block chain I was Id - 291,360 Maybe I'll have a much smaller member ID number on Hive.

but will @abh12345 have a lower member number than me

unsure and a good question, but I don't think it is wise to compare member size with someone as tall as Asher. :D

I am 129,866 on Steem.

It is going to be a very busy weekend. You do great at knocking post out, post that actually have good content, so you will be able to maintain a presence on both chains. I, on the other hand have a hard time with two accounts, one sits pretty dormant comment and post wise, just votes, so I think next week depending on how much content actually migrates to Hive, I may actually have to look into one of the steem schemes of passive income for my SP, and votes. I could be come like a whale and start selling my steem votes, simply due to time constraints.

Maybe bid bots will return to steem block chain. It is going to be difficult to figure out what to do with my Steem Power, delegate, sell, vote trail, or what, I guess it is just one more thing to think about.

Yeah, it is a hard call on what to do with it. I am guessing price is going to take a knock, but at the same time, the rebound might be large if JS decides to put the effort into hyping it. I am considering keeping some stake active here and interacting from time to time out of interest in what will actually happen.

Heh!

I did explain this to my wife... mind you, she does have an account, an an account for her non-profit that she very infrequently posts to. Having worked in the banking industry, she grokked it once I explained JS in the context of being like a "Corporate Raider" who cares all about profit and little about the actual "company" and "thousands of lost jobs."

After that, she stated that she'd also create an account for her "BogWarts" site (an irrevenrent satire blog on Harry Potter and people hoarding bogrolls due to the corona virus) on HIVE.

Frankly, I think it's pretty exciting that we get to be part of what's starting to feel like a "landmark case" of decentralization — as a concept — being able to stand up to and grow beyond conventional centralized structure and takeover attempts.

My wife has an account too. She is a dead fish. Soon a dead bee. Hopefully she will return one day though too.

I think it's pretty exciting that we get to be part of what's starting to feel like a "landmark case" of decentralization — as a concept — being able to stand up to and grow beyond conventional centralized structure and takeover attempts.

It is very cool indeed to be a part of and perhaps one day, we will look back and recognize the significance.

Let's hive off on Freedom Friday

Posted using Partiko Android

Should be fun and I hope it runs without a hitch :)

without justin bitch for sure

:)

ow are you doing (guessing you are in Vienna) there? I have clients I was talking with from Vienna and they have been on lockdown for a week or so it seems.

Was running out of enjoyable work in Vienna last year and luckily revived former clients which moved to Zurich years ago, since then I'm mainly writing reports for them on remote basis so no big change for me ;) one just needs a solid online business model :)

Good to hear. I am okay at the moment working from home for one job, but my business is 100% face to face... it is going to be painful.

This is hilarious! hahahaha!
Until it goes over my head with technical stuff. Then it's tone becomes very comforting. Thank you for doing this work and giving us a bit of calm and clarity.

No worries. Best thing to do in crisis, is have a laugh at it all :)

I'm curious about bittrex too! Hoping they will list it immediately!

Yeah, it would be nice. I have been shying away from Binance lately for some reason :D

Your wife will love it. I tried to explain it to mine and she thought I was delirious ... Hives ? Justin who ?
Just get her the Tshirt... https://www.zazzle.com/hive_t_shirt-235098732712595003

9B733D7F-1C60-4810-8D6D-BAAD0CF16735.jpeg

My wife would leave me if I bought that for her. Two birds, one shirt. :D

Ha ha ha.... I’m going to see how it goes....

Good post

poor comment.

Posted via Steemleo

I had one of these too from a different account. You did welcome them back :)

You did welcome them back :)

I did. It was to make sure you had comments for the Engagement League that you just killed. I am great with timing...

haha :)

Well, it felt like the right time for a break. Could well be back with a jazzy new logo (long overdue) at some point.

Could well be back with a jazzy new logo (long overdue) at some point.

I spent half a work day getting paid for creating that never used thing :D

I will make a better one. I promise. Now that I am working from home, I have nothing better to do.

Yeah so far hive received a lot of support. But I wonder how the hive token will take it's value in the market? Still I'm confident to say that it will be for sure. Just always thinks positive.

What up Hivean? Hiveian? Hiver? Hiverist?

My absolute favorite:

"There are worse hobbies"

:D
You could be a drug dealer. Oh wait, is that a profession, not a hobby?

Bahahahahhahaaaa XD

I just infodumped my understanding of everything to J in fyn and fortunately he is reasonably fluent in fyn these days XD then he nodded and smiled and said carry on while surreptitiously sidling away XD