Day 3 on Hive: Things Are Getting More Interesting

in #hive4 years ago

Blockchain is immutable you can't delete a post once it is created

I found that somewhere when I was doing my research today and sure enough there is no ****delete**** button for the posts. However there is an option for deleting comments..hmm . Does it mean that the comments are not stored on the blockchain?
Nonetheless, that means that one has to be careful with what he/she posts before regretting later.

There are still lots of things that I need to understand. I can't believe I didn't join HIVE a bit sooner. I mean I saw a tweet about HIVE about a month ago on twitter but didn't actually cared to get myself an account. But , its better late than never right? :)

Thanks @peakd and @acidyo for tipping me some HIVE (and for upvotes).
I was able to do my first Power Up.
powerup.png

I did lots of study on research today. I read lots of other contents and started engaging with other people more on their posts. I expected people would simply ghost me and I would be left with an unreplied comment. What I didn't expect was, not only would they reply to the comments, they went on to check my posts and leave generous upvotes and comments.

latest.png

That's crazy!! Thanks everyone who upvoted my posts and So, after 7 days of the post, I will be able to powerup some more.

So what did I learn today?

  1. Blockchain is immutable, in other words, the transactions you perform remains forever.
  2. Having Higher hive power is advantageous and makes you more influential in the platform as you can help as well as reward other creators. The more the Hive Power greater the value of your upvotes.
  3. Reputations grow with every upvotes you get.( I may be wrong :D)
  4. There are certain rules on this platform and going against it leads to downvotes which removes the reward you've earned on that post. (I did not find those rules though)
  5. Tags helps with your content discovery. Engaging helps too.

I guess that's it for today. I'm still trying to find what niche I would like to focus. Maybe that will happen later down the road. Eventually I would like to contribute something back in this platform. :)

Enjoy the little doodle that i made. ;)

hive.png

Sort:  

A post and a comment are pretty similar in nature and both can not be deleted from interfaces IF and only if there are comments and votes on them. Most comments don't have those so that's why you see you can delete them more often.

Keep these up we love them.

That explains it. People will have to be careful what they write before posting something embarrassing. 😄 thanks.

If you do ever post something you can always edit it after the fact. The edit will be what shows on frontends though the original oopsie will still be stored on the chain. Fortunately most won't ever see it since few will check the actual post history.

Haha that's cool. For the purpose of learning, how can one actually check the history of the post?

It's so refreshing to see you going through your first few days on HIVE. Makes me remember the time when I first started out on the chain too, approx 2 and a half years ago! Welcome to HIVE!

Thank you for your warm welcome. I'm here to stay as well ;)

This was a refreshing post to read. Glad you have joined Hive and had an immediate positive experience. That brings me hope for the future of our community and growth.

Thank you for your kind words. I hope to be a good part of that growing community.
Also, you have great collection of unique plants. I have quite a few indoor ones too.

Congratulations @the100! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Revolution! Revolution!
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!

I wish more newcomers would take the time to learn this place like you have. Hope you'll enjoy your experience here. :)

Yeah, the more I dive in the more I realize there is so much happening behind the scene. I can see how a new user can be thrown off, if they aren't patient enough to learning it.
Thanks, Hope to see more Pokemon art. :)

people would learn if things were coherent and intuitive, but we continue with the same steem problems, many apps haven't even bothered to rebrand. hive/steem is always 2 years away, meanwhile the future waits for none.

Everything alright with you? :)
just looking at your recent posting&commenting behavior

we can't onboard people but we can psychoanalyze people... is this the steem/hive model?

i'm powering down

don't have to be a psychiatrist to notice your negativity and spam

i spam? you spam, your posts help no one. hey, isn't it great to talk like two trump assholes?

now stop wasting your time and do something productive to make hive better.

There are certain rules on this platform and going against it leads to downvotes which removes the reward you've earned on that post. (I did not find those rules though)

Thats up to other people. Rule's are set in stone, but theres general things like plagiarism, spamming, disagreement of reward that causes others to downvote.

I'm sure there are lots of copy-content and spamming for rewards. I can see now how downvote helps to reduce that problem. Thanks :)

One thing you'll notice here, that's significantly different than other social media, is that people spend an inordinate amount of time building each other up. It's a stark contrast to what you see on any other social media. You do something awesome? people will invariably upvote it and share it with their friends.

The rules you talk about are largely unwritten, but moreso enforced by the community. The big one that will get you hit with lots of downvotes is plagiarism. Original Content is king here. If you're talking about yourself or something you think is cool, people will notice.

Also, @acidyo is good people. Though I'm sure you already knew that.
Also also, welcome to Hive!

Yeah, and people are super helpful. I was delegated 30HP because I had not enough resource credits to post. That does't happen everywhere.
I plan to make more original contents and eventually contribute something to the platform like you guys :)
Thanks for the warm welcome

Everyone's 1st power up is the best! 😀

Yeah it is, super exciting. 😁
You're from the discord right? You were helping me along with crimsonclad.(if you remember,lol)

Yes, that is correct lol Crim and I help'n away!

Thank you, both of you were very helpful.

Welcome to Hive! You are still joining in the beginning IMO, and a nice time to get here. Really interesting post to read. I remember I was really confused when I joined two years ago. Best thing to do is find a community you like, join their discord, and make some friends.

Yeah ,I've been talking in few of the discords. They're super nice and patient to answer my amateur questions. 😄 We could be friends too :)

Welcome to Hive, man! :D
The learning curve for Hive is steep since it's fundamentally different compared to Facebook or other traditional social medias, but it's so worth it for me, because here you can actually own part of the platform (in form of Hive Power). The community spirit is like no other and the amount of work put in for developing the platform by the people here is inspiring - everything is fully community driven here. Hope you find your place here :)

Yeah it really different than other platform.That made it more interesting for me as i study bits and parts of it. There are still lots of stuffs I need to figure out. And yes I want to find my place here which is why I choose a unique username thats easy to remember and stand out a bit,dont you think so? 😄

Welcome to Hive! Great mindset you have here and we all remember the first powerup!

You're right, patience is key here and persistence but if you focus on posting comments and blog posts first and foremost then the rest of the learning will come naturally! I'm still finding stuff out and I've been here over 2 years haha!

Thank you for your warm welcome and very good advice. I plan to write more good original contents in the comming future :)

Awesome! Looking forward to seeing you around, Hive is all about original content so you'll do well but it's all about having fun also - there's lots going on 😃

If you wanted some ideas, there's a fun little contest called "Your Top 3" (@yourtop3 - I co-organise it with other folks on Hive) where people share their top 3 favourite things about a specific topic and why. This month, the topic is "Favourite TV Box Sets/Binge watch series" but it changes each month.

Nice, I would love to participate on that contest. I already have 3 picks on my mind. So, how can i enter the contest?

Haha, that was quick! Some are still trying to think of theirs 😃

All you need to do to start is:

  • Create a post before the 9th with minimum word count of 250 words and use #yourtop3 as one of the first 5 tags
  • Set your post payout to 50/50 (if you use peakd to post, the option is in the advanced settings section) - I think the option appears at the bottom if you use hive.blog?

image.png

Then the team and a lot of cool and crazy people will be along to check out your choices!

We have a mascot as well called Q (not to be mistaken with the James Bond movie Q!) who will be along to help with the rest of it.

Looking forward to seeing your picks!

Welcome to Hive my friend!
One more thing that might catch your interest is the "Communities" feature!
There are hundreds of them for pretty much any topic!

Yes the Communities, I see it's being talked everywhere. I have yet to check them out. Thank you for the warm welcome. :)

Here is our skateboarding community if you ever feel like watching some action!

You're gonna love it on Hive!

I subscribed to your community :)

Thank you! :D
There are some great guys over there that will keep you entertained for sure!

Good to see new folks come in and learn about this wonderful place.

Just keep your expectations realistic and find your own niche youre good at.
Sometimes folks get a good start, sometimes they dont, but in the end its about being consistent and committed.
For me personally it took almost a year before i got any consistent engagement and votes.
Not saying youll be as bad as me at making friends but you just have to stick to it nonetheless.. :)

A good idea as a newcomer is to keep close to Acidyo and his projects and communities, hes one of the good guys here.

I'd say I have a had great start because you guys. I didnt expect to get so much comments, upvotes and reblogs. I'm taking every suggestions and advice I can get.
And yeah Acidyo is great, he seems to have very powerful influence here, super grateful to him. :)

your rule #2 is wrong. the only way to be influential is to know people. we've got the good old cronyism alive and well here.

That's actually good to know as not everyone will be able to invest hefty amounts. :)

Are you trying to discourage a new member? Do you remember yourself the first couple of months maybe? I guess you were pretty excited and so is he. And he is a really fast learner as I see. Your comments aren't particularly helpful...just saying

It will take time before i fit in here until then I will stay committed. This is my first blockchain and cryptocurrency experience, so its still a learning process for me.
and yeah thanks for the tip :) really appreciated.

Welcome! Great to see new people learning the ropes :) I see you like to draw, I'm the Admin in the OnChainArt Community. Check it out, make some friends :)

Yeah I doodle from time to time 😄. Your community has great collection of arts. Subscribed.

Thanks for sharing your journey. It can be hard for us old timers to understand what it's like to be new.

Being the first time we've met, I will bid you a warm hello, and welcome to HIVE. Indeed, the best form of discovery on a platform like HIVE, is the right tagging, and engagement with other people. Go around, and discover other people's content. Here, you can learn more about how they do things, how they live their lives, and how to connect with them.

Leave a nice comment or two, as that does wonders to make someone's likely average day, to be a whole lot better. The most important thing though, is to have fun! What's the point of doing anything, if you're not having fun while you're at it, eh? Hope to see more from you soon, and I hope you're well :-)

Hello, I hope you're doing well too. Thank you for taking the time to teach me a few things. I'll take any advice I can get.
You're right engaging with people on the comments is really awesome. I love how people are really helpful and supportive as this place is really easy to get lost into. There are still a lot more things I need to learn and do. So, of course, you'll see more from me.
Also, you did make my day a lot better. ;)

Cheers! It's a learning process for sure, and just like any other platform, it'll take some time to get used to everything, and how it all works. Always remember to have fun 🙂!