Think Different: Why am I sharing my views?

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

image.png

img source


Over the past 3-4 years I've been sharing my thoughts about Steem/Hive quite regularly.

And it's nothing new to me, that certain viewpoints might be seen with scepticism. Who could blame them, if those viewpoints are from someone who ran the most successful promotion service, which obviously makes everything that person said greedy nonsense! (sarcasm).

No, but seriously. I get it. My viewpoints can be difficult to grasp or controversial. Which is fine. The reason I'm still sharing them after all these years though is far from an egoistic need. (Well, maybe a little)

If there's even just 1 person who benefitted from the knowledge and views I shared, then I succeeded.

Because when I was fresh on Steem/new in Crypto, there was nobody saying things like: "make sure you take profits" - rather it was frowned upon to openly talk about selling - or "don't feel pressured to stay powered up" or even "4$ STEEM is not sustainable - make sure you sell some". Most people were trying to spread hopium, with/or without Hintergerdanken.

I wish people with the experience/knowledge would have talked about these things, which most likely would have helped quite a lot of people over the long run.

I'm writing my posts with these thoughts in mind, knowing that young wolf would benefit from them.

With this said: enjoy your Sunday. Maybe use some HBD/HIVE/Crypto gains to spend quality time with your family or just to have fun! :)

Sort:  

Hey man. I know that was just a little jab. A little quip. A zinger. And I'm cool with that. I think I'm muted because you couldn't take a shot. We need to crush this beef. I disagree with your views, at times. I don't take it personally when you disagree with mine. Not one bit.
Slightly humorous you'll mute but still can't resist looking. ;)

Don't worry, you gave me a good entry point for a post. Didn't come around unmuting I guess. Did so now. 👍

Didn't even take the mute personally. I'm Canadian. We get loud and crazy sometimes. Better suited for entertainment, not serious meetings. I probably deserved it.

You and I have a rocky past. No need to drag that into our future disagreements, which we both know will happen. I agree with you here today about how that locked in prison mentality that's endorsed at times can be self sabotaging. Limits success stories as well. My account and the effort behind it is driven by the desire to establish a business here, so of course I took profits, and didn't wreck myself in the process. I wrote about treating the platform like a business, years ago. That article started out with me talking about paying yourself. Some people in business don't even get to that point. Others pay themselves too much, too soon, and wreck themselves.

I'm hoping LeoFinance community will be a bit more realistic this time around about advice as I have to agree back then there wasn't much, then again can you blame people thinking Steem was too difficult to fail and not many were aware of Ned's hintergedanken to know that yes, it will get that bad (98% drop). Oh well, hopefully it can't get that bad this time around.

The same cycles will keep on repeating themselves if we don't learn from the mistakes we've made.

And no, Ned wasn't the biggest flaw with Steem 3 years ago. Many of the same challenges still exist today.

The question is whether or not we have the guts to make radical change or not.

Making radical changes is fine but don't attempt to completely remove one of the core functionalities and advantages of Hive to cripple it to become just like any other coin out there. Look around, everyone has NFT's now, everyone has tokens and sooner or later everyone will be able to give those tokens some value and add PoB to them in one way or another. Reduce inflation a little, sure, use more downvotes, sure, but remove it completely? Pretty sure that would set us back and make us look just like the rest except for 2 pages behind on marketcap.

SMTs was a good idea because it allowed sub-cultures to choose their own ruleset. With this, there wouldn't have been a need for a Hive-wide opinionated voting algorithm. Just stake it for RCs, inflation, governance and that's it.

Yeah but it needed to happen then, now it's been years and look how all other coins have adapted since.

I think we've reached the point where we can start implementing those changes. Slowly but surely.

First step is to reduce inflation for content and curation.

Second step is to have a good platform to launch SMTs from blocktrades or have everyone adopt hive-engine and make it better.

Final step is to completely remove the hive reward pool and replace it with an SMT.

It's worrying watching some of these folks want to cripple (and that's the right word) Hive. I'll just leave it at that. Talking about it goes nowhere.

Agree. I have some juicy thoughts on that. Will share them in another post. But what I can say now: it starts with every one of us. If you can't steer the ship, start steering yourself.

I'm grateful that Ned co-created Steem, and knowing that he's just a bit older than me, I can sympathize with the sheer responsibility and pressure he prob. had to "endure", but that's where my sympathy ends. He let so many people down. I don't know how many millions of stakeholders $$ were lost due to his unfulfilled promises and his deal that splintered the whole community, just for him to "peace out" and swaggering about leaving shitcoins behind (incl. Steem) and becoming a BTC Maximalists sometime in 2019 (My guess would be early 2019, but who knows)

Makes you think he always was a BTC maxi just needed to get bend time backwards to get more of them by using Steem for it.

I think crypto portfolio should be ~50% BTC, but maxi? Nah.

you can understand why some people can have a suspicious look when a top witness is talking about selling 50-100k of hive at 0.60$ :D

could be taken as lack of belief in development and growth.

and everyone should do with their stake what ever they want to do, they earned, bought or who ever they got it so it would be stupid for me or anyone else to tell them not to sell or not to stake...

you can understand why some people can have a suspicious look when a top witness is talking about selling 50-100k of hive at 0.60$ :D

No, I don't understand. I run a node and making my HIVE liquid and potentially selling some has nothing to do with how I run the node or my "duties" as witness. Would you consider that people getting paid from the DHF are not supposed to sell? They even get it in liquid.

Also, I don't think 60c is a bad target. Around 1$ would be optimal to take some profits, 70-80 is also fine. Everything above 1$ would be exceptional. Considering we've been at 10-20 cents for MONTHS.

could be taken as lack of belief in development and growth.

Well, I don't just want to believe - and then cry later because I didn't trust my judgement; I want to know. And right now, I know that I need to diversify. Things aren't bad nor are they super - they're okay IMO, but after all, you can't eat, drink, wear, live in or support your family with vested HIVE... 🙂

and everyone should do with their stake what ever they want to do, they earned, bought or who ever they got it so it would be stupid for me or anyone else to tell them not to sell or not to stake...

I agree. Personally, I'm just sharing viewpoints.

that is probably the problem how witnesses were presented for years on the platform. we should probably look at them as a mining rigs. but then there is a problem with DPOS because if you judge the witness only on node performance it would be hard to really decide who will get your vote.

hive blows, no help... no one cares,,,, same shite diff dia

Congratulations @therealwolf! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 150000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 152000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I was looking for a good advice cause i don 't really know what to do with my hive, should i try to buy some and sell it later for some profit maybe? I m still not sure but now i got some biggie playing :) have a nice week