You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Downside of Downvotes

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

So basically, you admit the system is imperfect. But then, for whatever reason, when it comes to smooth's downvote behavior, you lean into the "might makes right" fallacy. And thus, stay calm, carry on, and continue to downvote liberally in an imperfect system instead of trying to make it more perfect because why exactly? You know what, never mind, consider it a hypothetical. Some people are wired wrong and deserve the hell they're building. You remind me of the guy's wife in this video: Venal, vacant, void, vapid, vacuous, and empty of character. If Smooth were Mao Zedong, you'd be arguing that he's got every right by might to carry out the mass culling that he did. After all, he is the chairman of his self-proclaimed organization.

Keep shitting on abled content creators, and HIVE will be forever doomed to live in relative obscurity. You've got a helluva lot more stake than I do, so it's going to hurt you more now that HIVE isn't sitting at least five dollars than it does me. We need to get a "cancel account button" on this platform that deletes all content with an exit survey. Maybe the consensus of something like that data could show you, boneheads, the net effect of your activities over the past two years. You're driving HIVE's reputation into the shitter, and it's not okay with the majority of stakeholders. But again, the majority of stakeholders don't equate to the majority of stake, so I guess this POS is Smooth's to wreck as he pleases.

You know what you're doing, and so does he. And as you can gauge by the consensus of feedback on this post, you're on the wrong side of history, i.e., if HIVE will ever be blessed enough to get one of those.

Sort:  

You don't know me, so don't make assumptions.

I have worked hard to help build Hive up and not just for my own benefit. I don't want people to leave.

You are one of several people I have seen who had posts with a rancho or xeldal vote 'downgraded'. You still made more than I make most of the time. Did you complain about big votes with no explanation or did you just do a little dance and enjoy it? I'll make my own assumptions :)

Peace.

You know what; This is why I invited people like @haejin and @ranchorelaxo to go and support the comments at hbd.funder. If they're reward sniping over there, then we can sit back and see if smooth thinks that their stake only has merit when upvoting spam.

And the hilarious part about it is that's what caused them to stop posting to the chain in the first place. Guy made content that was meaningful to him. It may look a little spammy at first glance, but I went on youtube and discovered that he makes in-depth 5-minute long videos about the charts that he examines.

So although it may have looked like spam, it had meaning to him. And he was using his stake to upvote himself. I never had a problem with seeing his rewards because he was doing it with his stake. In the same way, I don't have a problem with values listed on hbd.funder's spam comments.

But the sheer hypocrisy of Smooth downvoting content just because Haejin upvoted it is infuriating, especially when he has the gall to reward snipe daily on spam comments to the tune of 500 HIVE. He even admitted as much that the merit of the program is somewhat unquantifiable. It's despicable, and I encourage you to pull the whale dong out of your mouth long enough to look into it.

I know you think you have a gotcha moment with me when you question whether I complain about heavy votes I get. Why on earth would I complain about that? And why would I do a little dance? My writing is my dance, and the vote is the appreciation. I've spent years on HIVE perfecting my craft and putting a whole lot more in than I got out of it, and you're asking me to look a gift horse in the mouth?

Something is wrong with you, man. This place has fried your wires upstairs. I think you think you have good intentions and all, but don't make the mistake of bringing any of your HIVE behavior into the streets.

I can see it now; Steevc is running amok in the UK or wherever the fuck, snatching up tips from waitresses and money from buskers. And then when they complain (before you burn their money.) You say to them: Did you complain after you got this tip, or did you do a little dance and enjoy it? When's the last time you complained about getting an upvote? Put the link in here right now, show me all about your bassackwards "virtues," and it better not be edited. If it is, I won't believe you.

If you are going to be abusive I'm done with you. I have plenty of friends here to talk to.

Don't take it personally, man. I can get pretty torqued off when people play head games while trying to defend those who abuse the downvote mechanics for obvious political reasons. It's probably nothing against you per se. So, don't let it ruin your day. Also, I do understand that my last comment, even if the whale dong were ommitted, may have been too much for you to process on a Wednesday night. That said, enjoy your evening and try and set aside the little bit of ribbing you got from a stranger on the internet. It's just some shit talk, not like I'm messing with your money or something like that. However, the really clever bit here is how you managed to come away as the victim in a downvote abuse thread where you were never flagged. That's very virtue of you, good Sir.

I've had my account nuked 'the powers the be', over this last 6 months (check out my account every.single.post.)

The place is a joke, where tyranny shouts 'muh community'.
Authoritarianism, with sycophantic whale fellatio experts, to keep them propped them up.

I thought you and azircon worked something out for a while, what happened? Also, what happened to that one post that you were going to do in two different styles (one professional) and the other in your usual style that examines the fundamental flaws of dPoS? I think you said one was going to be a video? I was looking forward to that.

@azircon and @lucylin, hug it out already and stop. Ya'll are stinking up the joint and making HIVE look terrible with this forever drama. Plus, HIVE would be a lot less terrible with fewer dramas. Learn to agree to disagree and leave each other alone. This shitshow jumped the shark seasons ago, all the actors have gone home, and nobody is getting paid anymore. Unless it's feeding your ego to downvote this lucy character which would speak volumes about you, let it be. Lucy's a good writer. I'd like to see him/them, whatever talk about something more interesting than the tyrants of HIVE.

If you stop being a tyrant, and he, stop talking about you, maybe ya'll be adults and accomplish something less ordinary than ego beefing on a blockchain that doesn't have as many active users as we're all pretending it does. The reason people don't stick around here is because of the power tripping. Just because you can do something doesn't mean you should. Imagine if every time you walked past someone bigger and stronger than you, they slapped the shit out of you because they can. That's not a cool place. There are people like that, but they get labeled as sociopaths and get shunned by the rest.

In a way, HIVE can be a lot more AIDS than Facebook is, and many times, it's because people don't act right. Let's not be those people, or when we find that happening, let's get gud, let's do better. I can't control either of your behaviors or force you to get along, but what I can say is that this beef is tired AF. Who will be the bigger man and walk away from this nonsense? Ya'll are worse than Israel and Palestine at this point, and one is underpowered, so the fight isn't even fair or fun to watch.

Lets be very , very clear here....

Lucylin's downvotes .......0
The cabal's ...............approx 200

voting power of lucylin when all this started - around 1500 HP
voting power of the cabal......................- around 10 million HP

Comments made (not including a reaction to comments) by lucylin ....0
Comments made by the cabal without prompts...........................in the hundred's (probably).

Now, I don't know about you, but to me - the facts say it all.

Talk about insecure and weak ego'd individuals running things - it is truly pathetic.

I've made around $40 talking about hive, off hive (so far)
I cannot make money on my account ON hive.

It's not willful blindness, if you're unable to see the facts - it delusion. (no offence, but I think you're not stupid )

I see the facts and realize the power disparity, I'm disgusted by it.
I'd like to see both sides stop talking about and stop downvoting
each other. It's stupid and it makes HIVE look bad and it means
everyone's HIVE will have less valuable because it makes this
place look undesirable. The system is unfair, this is a truism.
Making it so, is a huge challenge that isn't getting solved.

I have neither initiated any conversations, or downvoted.

Let's be crystal fucking clear about this.

There is NO 'both sides'.

It's ALL one way traffic.

My topics I choose post about on MY blog, are inspired by life events.
This is an event.

I was making enough , just - before all the bullshit - to cover my life expenses AND my granddaughters education.

That option to earn on my account was taken away from me - Other peoples actions, not mine.

Ergo - it's a very relevant subject to post about - the stripping away of another ability to earn off their does that to me - silly me. ( as it would if I'd witnessed it elsewhere, and I've spoken up many times over this last 4 years)

Loading...

The silence of the whales to stop the shit show, also speaks volumes.
...it's their loss, not mine - I'll hack it out wherever I am (if the profit comes from discussing hive, why wouldn't I?)

I think that @theycallmedan was doing some brainstorming on dealing with downvote abuse. I'm not sure where or if any of that panned out or is evolving into something. One thing is certain. If another blockchain figures the thing out, people will ghost the fuck out of HIVE in favor of greener pastures, as well they probably should. We've had time to deal with sociopaths and are collectively either not too worried about it or powerless against it, seemingly.

Oligarchs and the iron rule, tells me nothing will happen.

I purposefully tagged him many times, trying to draw attention to it - nada.

If big player told to he narcissistic sociopaths/children, to shut the fuck up - they would, have no doubts about that.

Whale responses ?... tumbleweed.
Actions say more - an mean more - than glib word salads.

HIVE is broken, no doubt. I don't know if it can be fixed to prevent downvote abuse. I don't even know if the power players have the power to fix the broken system.