You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adjust your witness votes!

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

It's not for fun. Censorship is a weapon. People die as a result of being misled, or for defying censors with the power of governmental force. You might recall the terminal censoring of Jamal Kashoggi not too long ago.

I have been shot at, beaten, and physically attacked with the intent of ending my life by thugs associated with crooked cops - snitches and drug dealers, and their minions. The lives of my sons have been threatened, and as a result I no longer dare publicly act to reveal specific criminal acts.

Maybe those thugs that have sought my life were psychopaths and thought it was fun, but that wasn't why they did it.

They did it to protect their money and power, and that of their overlords whom they serve. Sun Yuchen's takeover of Steem seems likely to have been done for those same reasons, rather than for fun. Since those reasons to takeover decentralized DPoS blockchains and censor their users continue to exist and apply to Hive as they did to Steem, I am certain effort is underway to do to Hive what was done to Steem.

If all we can do is fork, this community is doomed to fail.

I do not agree that all we can do is fork if someone buys substantial stake, or accounts hodling substantial stake, and it is easy to demonstrate myriad mechanisms we can undertake that can prevent mere money from seizing total control of our community.

I don't like most of them, and bet you don't either, but I am incapable of either understanding every possible mechanism that could secure Hive from such a Sybil attack, or of implementing any of them. Therefore I strongly urge discussion of potentially acceptable mechanisms nominal to prevent centralizaton of Hive governance before that centralization is effected.

We're only doomed if we don't.