You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hivefest Day 1 impressions: My first and hilarious experience in a Virtual Reality World (Kind of) | who am I? who are YOU?

in #hive2 years ago

Oh yes many times, when I started out I got a really bad review that called me a wannabe Tori Amos (hands down total respect for her, I found her to be really super interesting, and also made me discover Kate Bush (hands down for innovation) but I knew not much of her work at that moment. I also get lots of Enya and Loreena MacKennit and same, kudos to them for making New Age mainstream, but in true honest I listened to very few sung music when I was a child... I was more into film music and scores (Jerry Goldsmith, Trevor Jones, Bruce Broughton, well so many), also early synthetizer (Vangelis, Jarre, Eno). My favourite band is Tears for Fears, but I have a weakness for male voices when sung music (Bowie, Sting...) and of course you know I like Mike Oldfield too. About female vocalists I really love Liz Fraser from Cocteau Twins but well if you don't know her, believe me she's unique and impossible to imitate hahah :) I was not a singer to start with, I was the shy composer/keyboardist that ended up singing, and honestly I love singing now but I just did the way it was intuitive for me. Orzabal (from Tears for Fears) was a heavy influence honestly.

Sort:  

Really interested regarding comparisons vs. influences - thank you for sharing!

As a child I listened to Queen, Mike Oldfield and the 80s chart music of the time. I did listen to a bit of Jean Michelle Jarre and Tangerine Dream which is perhaps the closest in terms of influence - but really I don't think my music is very obviously influenced by anything - especially my improvised music! It probably is at a more subtle level - but in my mind I just make whatever feels right to me and don't worry about what genre it is. There are a couple of exceptions to that - I've made one Lofi/Chill track for a specific project and I'm doing another one now for a follow up for example.

But the music that I think is the most "TDC Tunes" is hard to put in a box!