You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NEW Hive dApp: Hive Alive | Includes a 1st For Hive -> The UnTrending Report To Track Downvotes.

in #hivealive2 years ago

There is already a vast amount of stake invested in fighting spam and plagiarism, my stake is better used to support content creators who seek to make use of Hive's censorship resistance to publish information that can help society and individuals to overcome the onslaught of mind control and manipulation constantly spewing from the highly centralised oligarchic corporatocracy.. among others.

Sort:  

You get 2.5 votes a day to be a member of the anti-abuse duty followers, it costs you nothing, but, so far, you have chosen to not play the part of the heavy.
Very few of us want to spend our days exposing, and expunging, liars, for less than nothing, but that is what has to happen for your stake to have value.
Just watch what happens to them other chains, eh?
They don't want to be the heavies, either.

We have the opportunity to be a fount of abundance, probably should support that, iyam.
Even if it means being mean to some people who can't color within the lines.

Games have rules, or there is no game, only a struggle for survival.
Currently, I think, you are on the wrong side of this.
Though I agree we will make more friends with honey than vinegar.

Come on over to the dark side and help keep the conversation on the tracks?
I think you might change your opinion once you have seen what is there.

The rewards made available via delegation to the numerous groups fighting plagiarism and spam make them massively more able to do so than I am able to match. My time is better spent achieving the goals I have set out to achieve with Hive and I don't have a problem leaving plagiarism combat to those who are rewarded for doing so - however, there are issues that need to be addressed in that scenario which I am helping to address here. My stake is not really big enough to make much of a downvote dent, but if a curation group is setup that shares my values then I might consider joining their downvote trail. That being said, as with all trails - I would never recommend anyone to join a trail without regularly checking on what it does.

I personally suspect that reducing free downvotes to 1 per day might be enough to bring greater balance - but ultimately, if people are going to 'abuse' downvoting, similarly to how people 'abuse upvoting' and they refuse to stop voluntarily then without a hardfork of some kind or everyone moving to layer 2, it may be necessary to set up counter downvote trails.. This would be highly inefficient, but that is part of the problem - the 'pool protection' is highly inefficient and open to biases at this point - systemic design changes are massively more effective when done right. Doing the systemic redesign effectively, requires significant amounts of experimentation, which is another reason why low cost layer 2 projects are essential.

but if a curation group is setup that shares my values then I might consider joining their downvote trail

Here is one.
Here is one with more people in it.

I would never recommend anyone to join a trail without regularly checking on what it does.

Great, that is what most folks in these rooms are doing now.

it may be necessary to set up counter downvote trails..

Got that covered, too.

These are all long term initiatives made possible by people who care.
I look forward to you joining the conversations.

which is another reason why low cost layer 2 projects are essential.

You will find like minded people there, several think layer 1 rewards need to go.
I don't share that opinion.
I think we need to adjust the crowd to the rules, and not the rules to the crowd.
It's a life long affliction.

Thanks, yes, I am due to work on @freezepeach's code at some point to improve it's functionality. They need as much help as the community can give. I will try to find time to engage with the groups you linked, but I have needed to clone myself to get everything done, going back 20 years.. so have limited time!

Yeah, I have a hard time finding time to keep up with what all is happening, too.
Thanks for chipping in what you can.
We need more perspectives, imo.