You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @hiveaustralia July 10 Virtual Meet-up Minutes

in #hiveaustralia3 years ago

Lol yeh it's a bit of a wanky topic. That word mandate is a little wanky too tbh lol. I actually thought that El Presidente thing was a joke and never took it seriously ~ more like ~ "tell him he's dreamin." 🤣

Organiser sounds accurate :) As for the keys, I would rather not have it. I'm keeper of the keys for a few accounts already and I'm not keen to take responsibility for another set. @quochuy is pretty solid and is on all the time, and it's going to be much safer with him (and ausbit) than me.

Sort:  

A little precision, I only hold the Posting Key.

@buggedout, another way to handle "Custodian gets hit by a bus" is to use a method I used for TeamVN (when it still was a thing) is to use the Secret Sharing method. In a nutshell, using a crypto method, we can generate X number of shares and assign each share to one member of the team. When generating the shares we can set a threshold Y. If the custodian gets hit by a bus, then we just need Y members to provide their shares and the app will be able to compute the original Owner Key.

Very interesting. I always figured that multi-sig account functionality was the way this problem would ultimately be solved, but this could be a good option in the interim.

This method could also be used in some real life stuffs too.