You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #HiveComments - Interaction Initiative

in #hivecomments4 years ago (edited)

I have found I strongly agree with many of the initiatives you have undertaken this year, however I cannot participate in any of them because I do not use Twatter. I do not use other social media besides Hive, and I'm not going to compromise my stand against media that are being centrally censored.

Edit: I have just read that your Twatter account was banned. Sorry you suffered that. How does it feel to be so powerful a force for good that evil forces attack you?

On another note, there is a reason that engagement has declined on Hive and that is the EIP reduced the value of upvotes on comments.

Please reach out to @edicted regarding his very workable plan to replace curation rewards as a source of ROI for investors with savings accounts, so that the noxious degradation of curation with financial manipulation can be rectified.

I personally have always regarded free speech as of inestimable value. A word to the wise can literally save lives. Being censored can kill. Allowing one of the most valuable and necessary social functions as speech to be degraded for mere tokens is not only stupid, it's heinous IMHO. I have for years maintained that its one of the primary reasons, along with opinion flagging, that Hive has not become one of the most eminent social media platforms.

Curation rewards degrade curation horribly. There is a better way to avail investors of ROI on their stake than forcing them to profit from upvotes, which should be only cast based on human values. They should really be curation, rather than how investors profit.

There is a real Golden Rule: treat others as you would like them to treat you. Raw DPoS replaces that with: he who has the gold rules. Author rewards were exemplary of the real Golden Rule, enabling society to oppose centralization, but curation rewards countered that, degrading the value of our speech across the board, and diminishing social interactions as a result.

The EIP then increased curation rewards and caused small votes to be wasted on comments, which further reduces engagement. Giving authors incentive to create content is necessary, but curating that content is degraded by the manipulations of algorithms potential to curation rewards.

Thanks for advancing all our interests on Hive.

Sort:  

I agree, screw twatter, say it here!

image.png

Curation rewards are a tricky one - I like them myself, but I'm just voting on what I want to and ignoring the payouts - I still get around a 7% return though which is the bit I like - it's kind of tragic being a tight arse to desperately try and get a 12% return!

image.png

Folks that aren't intent on the financial rewards for curating don't upvote for the wrong reasons, and for us curation rewards don't degrade our recommendations of content and authors.

But we don't have millions of Hive to manage productively, and aren't losing tens or hundreds of dollars a day by failing to maximize our ROI. I don't even know what my curation rewards are. I do not let them impact my voting.

For some folks not paying attention to their curation rewards would be imprudent, and Hive limits their ability to earn a return on their stake mostly to curation rewards. There are some investors willing to undertake the learning curve to attain the potential return curation offers, but to do that they have to be willing to sacrifice their commitment to the integrity of speech.

Maximizing curation rewards requires them to do that, and not maximizing their curation rewards is mismanaging their assets. @edicted has proposed savings accounts that offer investors a far more ethically sound and prudential mechanism to manage their stake, and I've strongly recommended it since I managed to grasp what he patiently explained.

But, yeah, screw Twatter. I'm not gonna pretend to believe crap that's not true, nor fail to speak what I believe to be true, and I can't speak forthrightly on that, or other centralized social media platforms. Folks that use them but not uncensored media are doing themselves great harm I think, because I learn stuff on Hive daily that helps me prepare to thrive during the coming disruption.

Free speech alone can enable me to learn such facts, and folks focused on the pretense that everything is ok are going to be very surprised when everything isn't ok, and neither are they. I appreciate folks trying to alert them to Hive, but they're either coming here or they're not. They've had years to seek uncensored alternatives to Twatter, and if they've not found Hive they're not looking.

savings accounts that offer investors a far more ethically sound and prudential mechanism to manage their stake,

that sounds good - i just haven't grasped the concept yet, but yeah most whales are just voting for safe boring consistant crap - if i see someone post anything madcore i give them a vote for not being a kept gimp

image.png