Back on dev track. Please help me prioritize.

in #hivedev4 years ago (edited)

Bit on the good past.

It's been quite a while since I've spent any real time developing for the STEEM platform. Those of you following my alter ego, @pibara might remember @croupierbot. You might remember @pibarabot and it's flag-war visualizations. And python devs will know me from the asyncsteem library, or may even have read about my early (currently abandoned) attempts to replace both asyncsteem and asyncsteem3 (a port of asyncsteem from Python 2 to Python3 by @scottyeager) with a cross-python-version and cross-async-framework primarily STEEM targeted asynchonous JSON-RPC library for Python named txjsonrpcqueue.

Yet others might remember me from the (also abandoned) STEEMSENSE project.

Why I left (apart from my alter ego @pibara)

I really liked developing for STEEM, but due to a few events, in a few smaller steps, I ended up leaving the platform.At least as a dev.

My creative alter ego @pibara remained on the platform, but retreated to the side chains.

The first event leading to me abandoning my dev efforts was Steemit Inc killing @pibarabot.

My @pibarabot was a rather API intensive bot that would run at scheduled times once a day, and process one week of blocks to measure, report and visualize flags and downvotes on posts whose voting window had closed that day.

Steemit Inc had implemented a rate-limit on their API in a completely non-standard-compliant way, and, more importantly, in a way also that could not be worked around for by either my script or my STEEM RPC library.

Communication with Steemit Inc led to nothing but the advise that I should run my own node if I wanted to run API intensive script.

The second event leading to me leaving my dev efforts behind was the EIP.

With my limited platform stake, at that point in time a little over 4k SP spread over five accounts, but concentrated mostly in @pibara and @mattockfs accounts, the EIP and the preceding market response to the EIP plans, made my two main accounts that could each upvote well above dust treshold, need to bundle forces to only just exceed dust level together.

So with the rate limit and the lack of Steemit Inc and top involved parties taking any of the technical and mathematical input serious that I gave to the EIP concepts, but also with the fact that on the creative side of things, the platform had allowed me to crowd source my editing and fund both an illustrator and a translator to get my first novel published, the choice became clear I evacuated @mattockfs, moved my stake to my creative account, @pibara, then moved about one quarter of that stake to #creativecoin CCC tokens.

This basically resulted in killing my already deminished @mattockfs presence.

Hive: A new hope

Think I don't need to elaborate on why I'm currently moving from STEEM to hive. The fact that you are reading this means you made the same decission, likely on exactly the same grounds.

When my first 200 STEEM Power down
payout happenedd, I thought, after some consideration, hey, let's go to @blocktrades and move my @pibara STEEM to @mattockfs HIVE.

So this is what I'll be doing the comming three months. Not sure how much will be left after three months,as I expect STEEM to fall in price quite a lot and quite steeply pretty soon, but hopefully I'll at least reach minnow size again before my power down is complete. With the new hope of Hive and some (currently very limited) Hive stake in my @mattockfs account, I'm ready to start allocating some dev time to the new chain.

Limited time resources, what to pick up.

This is where I need your help. A lot of old project I could pick up but limited time resources. I became a dad again last September, so my time resources are a bit more scares than they used to be. And it's probably a good idea to take things slow to begin with. A community is a living thing, and I've been away quite some time, so getting reaquainted before diving in head first is probably a good idea.

So let's list the things I could work on.

  1. Port the old (Python 2) asyncsteem library to Hive and revive @croupierbot plus the flag monitor.
  2. Same as #1, but forking @scottyeager's (Python3) asyncsteem3.
  3. Continue on and complete txjsonrpcqueue.
  4. Work on reviving the STEEMSENSE project, obviously under a different name.
  5. Work on a complete rewrite of the @pibarabot flag war visualization on Hive.
  6. This one is the odd one out, but might be useful for part of the community. I'm working, on and off, on a FUSE file system based on pyrumpeltree. This file-system would allow tools, for example a Hive not using your Active key, to run under your user account and have data storage private from all other programs running on your own user account. This could be useful for for providing extra security for Hive GUI clients.

You are the community, pick what you want me to work on!

With limited time resources, I think at this moment I should pick one of the six options above to work on. I however want to pick the one most beneficial to the community, especially the dev community on Hive. If you are a Dev and think one or more of the above would be of value to you, please comment on this post with a mention of where I should work on.

Sort:  

.

I also like the flag war visualizations. Well I guess we need to get w the times and call them downvotes. Already working on a rebrand for SFR on that note.

Do what you are most passionate about. Anything else you will just regret.

It always feels great when an old following becomes active again. Welcome back! 😎

Sorry for not giving you an answer. Do what ever you enjoy the most to get into some HIVE dev work.