Hive-Engine Snapshot Proposal

in #hiveengine2 years ago

logo_large.png
Image source: https://hive-engine.com

I am running a hive-engine witness node since about a year now. I have been there since the beginning and have been trying to help as much as I can by running a Hive-Engine monitor site, which provides up-to-date information about hive engine witnesses: https://primersion.com/he-witnesses

Daily Snapshots

Besides that the page provides daily Hive-Engine snapshots. This is needed in case a node fails / the database gets corrupted, to restore the node without having to replay the whole blockchain.
I have been running this service for almost a year now and all now and then I had to upgrade server storage with the increasing size of the sidechain.
The most recent snapshot can be found over here: https://snap.primersion.com/

Downtime

Right now I am creating the snapshot at 11pm UTC every day, which means shutting down the node, creating a snapshot of the mongo database and bringing the node back up. Since I am running low on storage right now I have to delete the old snapshot before creating the new one, which means a "downtime" of about 1.5 hours, since creating a new snapshot takes quite some time.

Proposal

The proposal will be covering the cost of running the snapshot server and allow me to further upgrade the storage to minimize the downtime or even allow me to store multiple snapshots e.g. two snapshots per day.
I am asking for 10 BEEs a day (worth around 5$). About one third of that will be used to cover the cost of running the server. The rest will go into savings and will be used to cover additional upgrades in the future / the fluctuation of the BEE token.
You can vote for the proposal (with staked WORKERBEE) over here: https://tribaldex.com/tokenfunds/BEE:WORKERBEE

Sort:  

Thanks for providing the service! I have used it many times!
You have my vote!

Thank you for the vote, really appreciate it! :) And I'm happy that the snapshots are used so regularly. It's great to build something which is actually used!

Absolutely GREAT idea !
Thanks again for your help last weekend : )

Congratulations @primersion! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 52000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 53000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @primersion.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more