Daffs! - March 18, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Winter's back - temp 26F crop March 2024.jpg

Winter’s back…sigh…

Not much interesting around here since Thursday. Friday was exercise class and I came home and slept. Saturday I worked on bills/budget most of the day. Sunday I went shopping first thing with my brother to get a corned beef, as I’d not made one this year. I’m out of beef, I discovered. We picked up fish cakes for supper, prosciutto for the chicken recipe we’d not yet made, and corned beef for Wednesday’s supper.

Then I worked on the bills/budget and got it all done except backing up. The DVD burner in the new computer isn’t hooked up so backing up will have to wait until Tom can get to the DVD burner.

South - 1st daffodils crop March 2024.jpg

It was cold and rainy all weekend and I looked at half open daffodils until Sunday night. They had finally opened in the South garden! There are tons more buds throughout the yard.

But this whole week is to be cold and windy so no outside work. I’m pretty busy with exercise classes, events 2 days and appointments. I hope to get more chicken stock made as I have taken out the last quart from the freezer. I’m going to use the roasters for that.

So that’s it for here on the farm on the last day of winter, supposedly…

Sort:  

Winter's back? I thought we were already in Spring, but I don't see the wet and cold season lasting much longer.
The daffodils are emerging to be very beautiful.

Winter is associated with snow and extremely cold temperatures. In such situations too, I would prefer to be indoors.
The daffodils look very pretty.

Weird weather! Here there’s a storm coming in some parts of the country. Very dramatic changes from week to week.
But the hot weather is building up in big cities. Such a contrast!

Hope the spring weather would be stabilised soon.

How sure are you that it may be the last day of winter?
Is there always a right prediction for people to follow over there?

Spring Equinox is on Tuesday. On that day daylight hours and dark hours are equal amount of time. After that the days get longer and the nights shorter. That’s the northern hemisphere. It’s reversed for the southern hemisphere.

I thought Winter was over, but the open daffodils shows that Spring is here, just a matter of days, so endure the cold just for a little while 😊

I can't really wish for winter period to come to an end where I stayed also actually

It has really been a while we witnessed rain where I stayed and we are actually looking forward to our first rain for this year