No More Wasps - April 16, 2023 @goldenoakfarm

Seedlings from porch2 crop April 2023.jpg

Sunday had a slow start as my brother wanted to sleep in. I decided to watch the second movie of the Sarah Plain and Tall series that I’d started on Saturday afternoon.

Sarah, Pleain and Tall movies crop April 2023.jpg

Many of my movies are still in VHS format and I have a working player. But last week the remote quit, so that’s a bit of a pain. But it was a quiet thing to do on Sunday morning and my brother got to sleep in.

Wasps on porch crop April 2023.jpg

Once he’d had his coffee we decided to wash the windows on the porch. I’d been using the single small window for ventilation, but with the high heat of last week, I’d had to open the big windows with no screens. I’d been worried about mosquitoes but these guys were actually the problem.

There was only one the first day and it flew off. But then each day there were more and more. I’d not yet seen signs of a nest but I figured I’d better get screens in fast.

Seedlings from porch1 crop April 2023.jpg

It would mean taking down all the seedstarting infrastructure so I started moving plants into the kitchen.

Porch - ready to wash crop April 2023.jpg

My brother would be outside on a ladder doing the frames and windows. I’d stay inside and do the windows and the storm door.

Porch - ready to wash2 crop April 2023.jpg

We finished around noontime and I had to rest awhile before I put everything back together.

I got it done around 2PM and sat down to watch the last movie in the series. The contractor arrived about 3PM and managed to get the roofing down from the upper beams in the barn, the broken window taken down, and the alcove in the woodshed cleaned out of wood.

The broken window’s frame is shot but I may have 1 more window in the loft of the barn. I have to look on Monday. I finally finished my movie and got up to cook the bacon for the parsnip chowder my brother and I had decided on for supper. He got the parsnips chopped and we’d decided to try the batata I’d gotten a while back in the chowder. He’d had it on his trip and liked it and I’d found it in the grocery store, so I’d gotten him one.

It complemented the chowder wonderfully and we again ate most of the chowder. It’s so rich and satisfying! The rain hadn’t started when I went up for chores but was due to in the night. It’s cooled down to normal spring temperatures now and will be for the week.

On Monday I hope to get more windows done and I have laundry to do. It’s supposed to rain all day.

Sort:  

Parsnip and bacon chowder sounds really good! It seems you had both a relaxing and a productive day. Nice,

How satisfying. The windows look great and the chowder sounds delish. With a vhs player and no remote you may as well give up and make shadow puppets for entertainment 😅 Just teasing ...

The chowder sounds delightful, well mostly because I love parsnips and just planted some old seed which I hope will still germinate. Good thing you noticed the wasps looking for a home. They can be quite a nuisance.

The new seedings are doing very well. So many trays in that space. I still have an old tape video player too, but I hardly used it since I have started to collect DVDs a few years ago.

So much work done in one day!