What Does Hive Mean To Me? - Not the answer you expected!

in #hiveimpact4 years ago

In the last months, I.haven't been as active on the STEEM blockchain as I have been in the past. Therefore I didn't really take part or even got emotionally drawn into the whole drama going on here lately. And to be honest - until yesterday, I wasn't even sure if I should continue to be using either STEEM or HIVE, or if I just should leave "this project" all together. However, I have decided to give HIVE at least a chance, especially after seeing more and more attempts of censoring on STEEM from Steemit.

Following this decision, I decided to write my own post about @theycallmedan's initiative What Does Hive Mean To Me?.

However, it might not be the post you would expect!

Now let's get to the questions asked by @theycallmedan!

  1. What is HIVE to you?
    In my eyes, HIVE is definitely not the great solution and problem solver some people are trying to sell it as. When I first heard about Justin Sun taking over Steemit, I had real hope that the combination of his money and popularity, together with the technology and community of STEEM, could become a great synergy beneficial to all of us. Unfortunately, this was only a short dream. Regardless of who can be "found guilty" of this dream collapsing like a house of cards, the split of chains we have now definitely is not the optimal solution looking at the initial situation we had. Therefore HIVE for now seems to me like a compromise and a last bit of hope that the original idea of STEEM is not completely fading away.

  2. What do you want to see HIVE evolve into?
    One of the things that confused me the most on the STEEM blockchain was the fact that many people seemed to have a completely negative attitude towards people and or projects making money. I am not talking about spammers and pure circle-jerkers, I am talking about successful projects. Let me bring you an example. From my personal viewpoint, @splinterlands and @appics are by far the most user-friendly applications on STEEM I have ever used. However, I have witnessed dozens of discussions, both on and off the blockchain, where the founders of those apps where directly or indirectly criticized for making money and being "just great marketing guys". My biggest wish for HIVE is that the general attitude towards making money shifts into a more positive one. If talented people are able to create well used applications which earn them money on HIVE, that is a damn good thing!
    The next big wish towards the evolvement of HIVE is that the community and it's leaders (if you want to call whales leaders) doesn't just use the split as an excuse to continue their old way. Don't get me wrong, I also don't think that Steemit did a great job for STEEM in the last years. However, many bad things were happening on STEEM where Steemit did play no role at all. I really hope that especially many big accounts will see the split into HIVE as some sort of wakeup call to stop their old behavior of circle-jerking and self-praising and switch to supporting real quality and promising projects, as well as flagging obvious abuse, even if this means smaller financial returns in a short-term view. Looking at the general "trending" page of all posts however, kind of destroys those hopes before they started. On the one hand, we have short meaningless posts by Rep 75+ Users which say not much more that "HIVE is great!" rewarded with almost 50$ each, on the other hand we have posts made for the sole purpose of attacking people (not only Justin Sun). The worst of the second category is rewarded with way over 100$ and even according to the author only made for embarrassing the person it is about.
    Steemit and it's huge stake might have been a rock the community had to carry rather than a fortress the community could rely on - However, Steemit was definitely not the sole problem of STEEM. If you think everybody can continue like before and HIVE will be successful just because Steemit was taken out of the equation, I think you are dead wrong!
    Therefore I hope that the community on HIVE will evolve as well. If it is just the code that has evolved, I think we are still on the wrong way!

  3. What do you think about having a large funded DAO for future HIVE development?
    The ability of having a tool to reward contributions without using normal post votes is definitely a great thing. However, I really hope that the votes of especially big accounts will really be based on the value of the individual contributions and not the stake or the popularity of the person making the contribution. Looking at the past on STEEM and the current trending page on HIVE, I am not quite sure how well that will work out though.

  4. What does HIVE mean to you?
    HIVE means that STEEM didn't evolve the way I hoped and therefore HIVE right now still has a rather negativ meaning towards me, as it feels kinda like a sign of failure. However, HIVE also stands for at least a little bit of hope that the original vision of STEEM, the one I came here for years ago, continues to live under a new name.

As you probably can read out of this post, my feelings towards this project are quite torn apart between hope and frustration. Let's just all hope and do our best that the positive ones take over!

Saying so, let's end this post with a beautiful sundown I recorded while running a few months ago!

Greets,
Martin

IMG_0386.jpg

Sort:  

I agree with in all what you have written here and I hope we are still on time to fix the old problems. with this split, only one major problem has been solved, now we should face the others.
Cheers

What we need are people who have fun and share it with us. I've been around for over two years now and I have to admit that sometimes it's all extremely complex and daunting. Try to explain to someone what this is all about and how it all works. Many non Blockchain Nerds shake their heads and refuse. Too complicated and that's the point. Why would anyone come here?

To me this is all just an experiment. I want to know where it's going and I have a little hope that a hopefully decentralized social media platform will find more followers in the future. We will see where the journey goes.

I really love your daily pictures :)

Yeah, for most people using the hive.blog page is probably too complex and time consuming besides their normal life. That's why I think easier options like for example Appics have way better chances of getting it out to greater amounts of "normal" people who just want to use an easy app.