today I created my personal website

in #hiveisalive4 years ago (edited)

Hey! Every cool online content creator needs his own website for several reasons. A few of them are:

  • showcasing his creative work,
  • write blogs about recent creations,
  • to publish downloads for viewers,
  • to build a trademark / corporate identity
  • or just to feel more serious in this internet world.

For me all of those reasons fit so today I have created such a place.

Happy to see that tibfox.com was still free, I quickly registered that domain (for 15€/year) and set up a WordPress instance on digitalocean.com. Actually I installed OpenLiteSpeed WordPress 5.4.1 on Ubuntu 20.04 because a friend of mine recommended that.

Setup, configuration and all that has been very very simple and quick. This Website was built in around 30 Minutes including selecting the theme and configuring my social media handles and all that stuff.

Currently I am going to build my own corporate identity (if you can call it like that for an individual) and searching for someone who can draw a nice looking logo for me. But the first step is done: I got tibfox.com.

Now I am here, writing my first post without knowing where this site will lead in future and if I will ever become a bit more serious about my online presence. It could also be that this site is another little hobby which I'll forget within a few weeks. Who knows and it is also not really important.

It feels like in the late 90s where everyone had a page on myspace.com and a blog on wordpress.com but today: it's 2020 already. Note to myself: don't mind the flying time. That's normal, you get older every minute and that's fine. Everyone gets older every minute and you don't need to panic here.

https://ps.w.org/steempress/assets/banner-772x250.png?rev=1891251
taken from https://wordpress.org/plugins/steempress/

I am a huge fan of the hive blockchain and because of that I immediately installed SteemPress on my WordPress installation, entered all my account data and now I am writing this post to test the automatic publication while feeling serious about my website. If the resulting hive post looks good on my blog there works well then I will have a very good reason to post here more frequently so *fingers crossed*!

If you read this on hive, it worked & if the formatting looks good, SteemPress did a great job! If you also have a WordPress blog and copy&paste your stuff always through the internet, give SteemPress a try! Easy installation and setup and hopefully a good resulting hive post.

Thanks for your time to read that far and all of your engagement in the comments!

Love ya, Tibfox

Sort:  

Yes bro! I've been wanting to do this for some time now too but I just do not know how and I'm knowhow lol! Hehehe!
That's a great step to success bro!

Haha thx it is quiet easy if you use those 1-click-installations of digitalocean.
But I guess you could also install this manually and there will be good tutorials online somewhere :D

Wow bro, now you have a personal website... Congrats :D

Thank you :D We'll see how serious I take this in future :P

Great Post!
Look forward to reading about your journey into web development. I just started looking into it myself, have to check out steem press after this.
Good luck with all your endeavours!

Ps, looks great on hive!
Pps I think corporate identity is branding, which can be for individuals. That's my understanding, but I'm the opposite of an expert..

hey I guess I will not develop so much on my own. I just need a site to have a one-stop-overview for people :) Yeah branding is a better word for ci sure :) Thanks for the comment and input!

It looks very nice. Create a new website is a very interesting experience,so you can choose all the preferences and put the creativity to fly. I hope to see your amazing results soon! ✈️

Yeah absolutely :) It is very exciting and I have so many ideas to work in there! Thx for the comment and heads up!

actually it looks pretty good! yeah

Schade das http s nicht worked!
https://tibfox.com/

wäre wichtig für die Suchmaschinen der Welt, aber auch für Leute die einen Virenscanner haben und damit Webseiten bei denen die Verbindung nicht sicher aufleuchtet, wird deine Webseite nicht angezeigt.
Viele Auftraggeber achten schon länger auf so kleine Details!!
Jedenfalls bist jetzt kein Digitaler Obdachloser mehr! Gratuliere @tibfox!
lg , bis Irgendwann in Hamburg (dtube Forum)

tibfox.jpg

Hey danke für den Hinweis - wusste schon, dass das nicht soooo professionell aussieht aber hab erstmal darauf gepfiffen. Nun ist auch https fein aktiv :P aber alles trotzdem noch im Aufbau. So viele Plugins können das Leben erleichtern aber vieles macht es einfach auch nur noch komplizierter.
Naja - am Wochenende werd' ich sicher weiter machen :D

lG & bis irgendwann! (vielleicht auch noch vor dem nächsten DTube Forum - who knows..)

It appears to me that it all worked great!
Nicely done!

this is awesome bro, proud of you.