You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A peer-to-peer network for sharing and rating information

in #hivemind3 years ago

I love the merit and forward thinking evolution of this concept.

While working today, I was thinking how this blockchain prints tokens like crazy without considering the quality of the content. I agonize over the content and not post something without baking the concept and fleshing out the bones before filling it with content like an article. I do have to refine my process and create articles with punch and not have the 4 pages each but that is my issue. Seems it is my networking rather than the content itself that generates any kind of reward judging upon the lack of comments/replies lately. I just never know.

Anyhow, looking forward to reading further posts and the discussion in comments here.

Thanks again!

Sort:  

Networking plays a huge role in our reputation and in the rewards we reap for our other actions.

It's understandable to some extent, since we can envision the case of a person who solves some tremendously important problem, but never tries hard enough to share it with the rest of the world. On the other hand, we can also see cases where someone spends all their time networking, but doesn't do much in the way of analysis, basically just acting as a human information replicator (and likely a flawed one at that).

Historically, the latter type of person was more useful than they are today, when technology has developed better ways for us to spread information, but I think the desire to reward social interaction isn't going to go away (and clearly still has benefits). In the past, I would guess that extroverts were rewarded more than introverts (another way to talk about less extreme forms of those two types of people), but I think that is changing with time and technology.

What a time to be alive!

I appreciate this comment so much.
I still think the communicators have value but the more evolved the network will be, we should see better productivity.
As long as the middlemen won't evolve faster like in facebook and google case in the last few years.

... we can also see cases where someone spends all their time networking, but doesn't do much in the way of analysis, basically just acting as a human information replicator

And they are often the top rewarded account on Hive :)

There are highly rewarded accounts on Hive that often act as interpreters of information from other posts, but often these accounts are making very useful contributions, I think.

I've seen many posters that reword popular posts in a different way that can often be more accessible to a larger audience. Such posters often expand on the information, show potential linkages to information from othe rplaces, and speculate on possible outcomes. To me that goes far beyond mere replication.

Yes you are right, I am a fan of these sort of posts which collate from various sources (perhaps other content here) and present them in an easily digestible manner.

I was referring to the posts which, for example, pick an old news article about the loss of X tokens, multiply them by todays price, and voila, 'new content'.

I was referring to the posts...

Ah yes, those kind of posts, yeah, I'm not fond of them either.

Excelente información. Me gusta como hace sus post. Su manera de hacer los mensajes lo hace especial. Cada día aprendemos más y más de las personas, eso es parte del aprendizaje en la vida.