Paying it Forward... and it Paid Off

in #hiveph3 years ago

It was one lovely day in the hospital for my follow-up check-up. The weather was so pleasant not too hot but the sun shines. Despite the lingering facemask, it was lovely to breathe deeply. The air was so friendly. Peace and quiet it is.

I strolled around the metro after my successful phlebotomy with the evidence of the procedure on my left arm. Savoring the moment, I spotted this man with his paintings.

11.jpg

Mesmerizing it was. The paintings are so alive that everyone around there stopped and took a deep look at each of them. You can witness the awe in their faces. The paintings speak for themselves showcasing the beauty that is full of emotion. The combination of vibrant colors and shadows acted a 3D effect fooling one's eyes and you can't help but touch it to prove it is two-dimensional.

Hive painting 2.png

My phone's camera couldn't catch the exact glory of the paintings. It reaches one's inner self pulling a connection wanting you to possess it. The masterpieces are crafted with enormous dedication, passion, and undeniable craftsmanship. However, for me, it is quite expensive at the price of P2500.00 each ($50). But, honestly, it is three times cheaper than those paintings in the mall.

My feet ask me to stay to rather experience the amazing artworks for some time. I felt I was part of it. Painting was my rescue during the times I was bedridden. You only need at least one hand to pour out all your feelings through brush strokes and color mixtures. Looking at the masterpieces, I remember those days and my paintings are still unknown to everyone. People don't even know I paint too.

Being dusted at the side street, I pitied the pieces of artwork. It deserves more recognition. It should be on a better platform to be adored by many. I wish to buy one to help but, sadly I can't.

"Bili ka na Sir, P2500 lang isa. Wala pa akong benta. Magtatanghalian na. Galing pa akong Caloocan."
(Please buy Sir. $50 each. I have no sales. Lunch is coming. I came all the way from Caloocan")

With a begging tone, the man came out of nowhere. As I saw his face, I see a man struggling, hopeless and tired. Perplexed! I asked him if he is the one who painted it. Much to my surprise, he was the unsung artist.

We run exchanges of conversations. Selling paintings is his way for a living. He manually carries the paintings to places where he believes he can make a sale. He is doing this since his prime days and this is what he loves to do.

Unintentionally, triggered by my unconscious mind, without scrutiny, with the eagerness to reach out, I quickly took photos of the paintings and the painter whom I haven't asked the name of and posted it on my FB.

Hive paintings 2.png

I bid the artist goodbye and enjoyed the long ride home. I was cloaked with mixed emotion -- grateful to see marvelous masterpieces and a down-to-earth painter; a bit of sadness for his artworks are inspiring and skillful yet it is sold on the streets for unfair pricing.

That same night, my post reached multiple shares and I received several inquiries with regard to the paintings. The posts also reached the painter's wife's knowledge and we became FB friends.

The following days, there were generous people who bought his masterpieces! Then I received these heartwarming messages...

hive 1.png

(first photo translation: Sir thank you so much for taking a picture of my husband you did a big help.)
(2nd photo was the delivery of the orders)
(3rd photo translation: Thank you for posting the paintings of my brother in law it was a big help to them thank you)

It was a message of hope. Those were words of sincere gratitude and I can't help but be thankful as well.

When you see an artist's work of art, you simply do not buy the output itself. You can buy canvass and oil paintings anywhere but you can not give an exact value to his artistry, commitment, and undying passion for his craft.

Every day we meet strangers and we don't know who among them will touch our lives. But, the universe intertwines paths so the right people will meet and encourage each other. I am so blessed to meet helping hands who uplift me from the pit of despair and bring me in the triumph of light.

That single event at the street maybe was my time to pay it forward. Gladly, fate worked its mystery and paid it off.

One thing I've learned with that experience is to not give up on reaching out to other people the possible way you can. That little act of random kindness, that wouldn't even hurt you a single hair, could be the long-awaited huge gift for someone.

Sort:  

This is so inspiring bes. Nakita ko tong post mo, and figured since jan ako banda lumaki, baka may mga kakilala akong makalapit sa kanya at bumili. So nice!

Welcome back bes! And happy birthday! :)

Yes, I am back.Ty sa bday greetings.
Sulit young presyo sa ganda ng painting bes.
Thank n agad

Magandang inspiration ang ginawa nyo BD. Sana at sana, marami ring gagawa ng ginawa mo.

Anyway I'm happy for that man and because you helped him.

thanks boss. Tagalogtrail n tayo ulit

kulang pa po yata eh, naka-abang lang naman ako.jehehe

uu cgeh abang din ako

Congratulations @beyonddisability! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 5000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Bee ready for the 2nd Hive Power Up Month challenge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!