Contemporary Reads : Book Review

in #hiveph4 years ago

Bored or got nothing to do anymore with your free time during quarantine?

Sick of scrolling down your Facebook or Instagram feed? Give up trying to perfect every recipe you watched in Youtube? Why not try reading? For the first time reader, if you're not into romance genre, try a contemporary book as a start. Contemporary books could never go wrong and I would love to recommend some that for me is really a page-turner. I could say that my favorite genre changes from time to time. But a contemporary book keep me asking for more to find and read another book. For now, I will list two of my favorite adult contemporary together with my rating. I can't provide my actual photos of the book though as I'm far away from home for more than a month now because of work. I really missed my books back home, if I could be honest. :(

1. THE FIVE PEOPLE YOU MEET IN HEAVEN

This book is memorable to me. My review for this is actually long overdue. I first read this when I was still in a University. I had lots of breaks and what I usually do, I hang around the library. Scanned some fictions then I saw this and the title somehow made me curious. And when I started reading I couldn't stop, it's so hard to put down. This centers around the story of Eddie and it actually starts on his death. He was sent to heaven and get to meet people there that he didn't know when he was alive. I was curious what heaven is actually like, even until now. That's what makes it a page-turner for me because I wanted to know what's the author's picture of heaven. I was a teenager when I read the book but I felt that I grew up that time after I read the life lessons in every chapter. It's not a thriller but sometimes it left my mouth open in every page and of course, when I finished, it made me want to find more books like this or any of Mitch Albom's.
images (7).jpg

My rating: 4/5
"All endings are just beginnings we just don't know it at that time."

2.THE ALCHEMIST

This is exactly the book that inspired me to travel and do everything just to fulfill my dreams. If you think you need some lifting up after all the rejections and unfortunate things in life, I recommend you read this first. This is a fable about chasing your dreams. Santiago, the shepherd boy, dreams of going to the Pyramids of Egypt. He sold all his sheep just to follow that dream and encountered so many distractions and maybe bad luck along his way. He got frustrated and regret his decision to take the risk to travel. Many of us can relate and I know we always ask, "Why is it so hard to follow our dream? Why can't we just fulfill it with no problems at all?" But as you go on with the book, you'll realize it could be more frustrating if you did give up.

images (8).jpg

My rating: 4.5/5
"When you want something, the universe conspires in helping you achieve it."

So what do you think about these titles? I know these are popular reads and best selling authors, many people had read this. But if not yet, give it a try. I promise this is worth reading. 😊
If you're super bored or lonely with your life right now, don't give up. Remember, there is always light at the end of the tunnel.

Photos grabbed from google:
https://www.google.com/search?q=the+five+people+you+meet+in+heaven&client=ms-android-motorola&prmd=ivsn&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwj4_OrEuaTpAhVIc3AKHZAnBIoQ_AUoAXoECBoQAQ&biw=320&bih=490#imgrc=DVgPB_Z6WpGvtM
https://www.google.com/search?q=the+alchemist&tbm=isch&ved=2ahUKEwjCzP_NuaTpAhUUDZQKHR0rDSwQ2-cCegQIABAC&oq=the+alchemist&gs_lcp=ChJtb2JpbGUtZ3dzLXdpei1pbWcQAzICCCkyAggpMgIIKTICCCkyAggpMgIIKTICCCkyAggpUKrSB1iX7AdgjPsHaABwAHgBgAHRCYgB0QmSAQM3LTGYAQCgAQGwAQg&sclient=mobile-gws-wiz-img&ei=BWm1XoK2HZSa0ASd1rTgAg&bih=490&biw=320&client=ms-android-motorola&prmd=ivsn#imgrc=AAHhmRdj_u0JFM

Sort:  

Congratulations @eunhye.gray! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Revolution - Call for missions
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!

I've been seeing good reviews of those 2 books and even other books from Mitch Albom and Paulho Coelho. I was trying to buy Mitch Albom books before but I still hesitated because my Coelho book set hasn't been read until now. Lol. I really need a push to unwrap those books. I guess its because I am more interested in reading nonfiction books. Anyway, I might try reading their books soon if my mood permits me. 😊

It won't be a waste of your time sir...😊 hope you can read those.

I’ve never been fond of reading books. I don’t know why, but I don’t enjoy reading long stories. But because of this quarantine thing, I might consider to do so. Thank for the suggestions. :)

By the way, here’s a little tip. When you are trying to incorporate links from some source try to use href code for more organized look.

thank you for the tips.😊 yes, they're worth reading.