Here’s what I found out from strangers who talked to me for free – and the importance of listening.

in #hivephlast year (edited)

In 2017, passing a mental health law in the Philippines (known as RA. 11036 today) was the talk of the town for the following reasons:

  1. It took us a very long time to have one.
  2. Mental health was a taboo topic.
  3. Mental health professionals were finally at the forefront of policymaking.

At that time, I was a naïve second-year Psychology college student. While my heart was racing to be part of the conversation, I didn’t know what to say. So I did what I could: Listen to others.

interview (1).png

A brief history of the “free sessions”
Most of the time, people are surprised when I don’t chime in to share or talk over them about their personal problems. It wasn’t because I had nothing to say, but a lot could be said in silence and a gentle understanding of how they felt.

In return, I learned how to cultivate a healing space for mothers, grandfathers, young adults, and children to open up and feel at ease to explore their emotions with me.

By the time I was a senior in college, I was head of a student organization under the Guidance Office. We organized activities that emphasized creating safe spaces: support group meetings, other times, we just hung out together and played games.

The year ended with a community focused on mental health awareness on campus.

Then the pandemic hit, and you know how devastating that was for everyone. I discovered that listening had become more than a mode of support but also a need.

Having someone not judge, shame, or be reactive toward you – being compassionate in hearing your issues – is crucial in improving our well-being.

20220115_084718 (1).jpg

That’s why I felt a huge call to bring back my listening sessions, which launched The Wounded Healer in October 2021. The title is a simple confession: I have mental health issues, too, having wounds that scar deep, but it doesn’t limit my healing purpose.

The online advocacy functions as a way to connect with a bigger audience for my speakership engagements, but most importantly, to promote the “Online Kamustahan” - a project that allows individuals to sign up for an hour of free listening sessions with me, usually done after working hours.

Here are the important things that I learned from listening to more than 30 individual lives in 2022.

Our first step to healing is feeling safe
I remember the first person who signed up for Online Kamustahan – he was in his 50s, a father, and a life coach. To break the ice, I asked why he registered and met with me. He said curiosity led him here, mentioning how he dreams of studying courses in Psychology.

It sounded like we were bonding over our shared interest in mental health, but his cheerful tone changed when I asked how I could help him. He bravely mentioned his depression, which kept him away from his family members.

As each second passed, he felt braver to talk about how it impacted his ability to work and connect.

When we feel someone is actively listening to us, what we say matters. Feeling like we matter also comes from people taking their time to get to know us. The art of knowing a person lies in genuine care. Naturally, a safe space was created between him and me.

At the end of the session, he sounded lighter, motivated, and inspired – a clear indication that it was a healing time.

Your loving presence is enough
Online Kamustahan started to gain momentum on July 2022 – all kinds of people from around the Philippines were signing up. I met with students, young adults, and people with depression, anxiety, and other mental conditions.

Sometimes, they’re amazed at how I could do this work.

How come a wounded person like me can have a healing effect on others?

DSC_0979.jpg

There’s no secret ingredient, really.

I’m no magician either.

I found that setting my intention – helping others by listening – directs my thoughts, feelings, and actions. I gained listening skills because I realized how effectively it makes another feel understood and cared for.

What I feel on the inside is what naturally radiates around me. If that is love, love will come through. If that is comfort, comfort translates into my words, touch, etc.

Question of the Day: How can I listen more?

I’m leaving you with a prompt today, Hivers! You are part of the mental health advocacy now. Your wellness matters too, so take the comment section as a chance to be vulnerable and connect.

I would appreciate a FOLLOW on my Facebook page. You can also subscribe to my TikTok account: @ishwoundedhealer

Thank you for reading my post!

I hope you have a healing day ahead 💜

Sort:  

Hey, Ish this is a great initiative! For sure there will be some folks in Hive that might be signing up for your cause and hopefully can seek help with their mental health as it is essential.

I somehow can relate to that 50's guy she might have a ton of stuff going on with his shoulder given that he is also a life coach which means a big deal too as he coaches other folks as well.

Sometimes depressed people doesn't need advices to hear from someone, but just their time to listen in whatever we feel. I felt that oftentimes, and I just need someone I can talk to. After that, I'm fine like nothing happened. So, thanks to people like you for creating safe spaces for us. We appreciate the care and support.

It really makes a difference to have someone out there whom you can freely talk to - without feeling any kind of judgement.

Most of the time we dont really need to get all the answers to our problems right away, all we need is someone to listen, to hear us out, and to empathize.

Congratulations @ishwoundedhealer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2023
HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive Austrian Community in Graz
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @tpkidkai ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

It's good to see you here, ish!

You're amazing for pushing this initiative!
A lot of people have problems and worries that sometimes, they tend to bottle it up because no one listens or is giving a listening ear to them.

How can I listen more?

Kinda a difficult question and took me time to really think of an answer, which I'm also not sure if it's really an answer to this question.
I guess "listening" doesn't only involve hearing words from another person, but also hearing their thoughts, understanding their facial expressions, and knowing what lies deep in their hearts.
In this case, it's important to be attentive to the person you're with.

Hey, that's a good answer! It's about being attentive and being there. Glad to hear from you 💜

This is very helpful to teenagers nowadays. That can confess what they're feeling. Many of them need help. I hope this advocacy will be spread widely.

You're right, teens need a place where they will be listened to. Thanks for sharing your thoughts 💜

You're welcome.