Powering up, and leaving Steem for good

in #hivepud3 years ago

It's Hive Power Up Day, so guess what I just did?

I also powered up on September 1, I think it was 100 Hive, but didn't get around to finishing my post. Today, most of my pocket money is tied up in election bets, like @nealmcspadden's Trump/Biden Game, so I'm powering up only 50 Hive. Anyway, I have more than 4000 Hive Power now. It was less than a year ago that I struggled to reach 500 Steem Power. Since then, I haven't blogged much, being busy with my day job, but I had decent luck trading and a bit of income to invest, while Hive became cheaper.

This is a rational investment, since Hive is something we can all make worth more by using it. It's cool that there are more ways to use it nowadays than just blogging, like games, Hive-Engine and D.Buzz.


money.jpg
Source: Inspirobot.

For full disclosure, here's my tax reporting data: in Q2, I earned €0.69 on Steem (because I didn't realize I was still posting there through Actifit) and €6.54 on Hive. In Q3, I earned €0.16 on Steem and €2.49 on Hive. Yes, I report author's rewards for my posts as income, since I consider myself a professional writer. This is not financial advice. If you use @actifit, please make sure that you disable posting on Steem in the settings on the website.

I made my last post on Steem last week, and left only enough money to post a comment if needed. For the past seven months, I've been shitposting on Justin Sun's hand-crafted website - just for fun, I wasn't trying to milk rewards. It was relaxing not having to care about posting quality or careful curation. I downvoted steemitblog and upvoted spam as well as posts in languages I don't speak. But eventually I decided they don't need me to ruin the site.



The Whalefountain on a sunny day in July. I paid for a spray to receive a picture of these sailboats. Then a couple of cyclists appeared. It depends on the wind, but yes, you can feel droplets there when the whale makes it rain.

Actually, Steemit does still have some use for onboarding Korean and Chinese users, most of whom seem to be comfortable with the corruption and censorship. It makes sense that people don't want to compete for a reward pool when they're not fluent in the dominant language. We should've realized that when Russians started Golos, rather than seeing that as an exception. Let's take care of our users speaking Spanish or other languages.

And although they deserve it for being censors, downvoting steemitblog gave me mixed feelings, since they give their users more attention than Steemit, Inc. ever did under @ned.

I think someone who hasn't been banned yet should keep track of the steem tag on Steemit, since there are people there who return to the site after a year or longer and wonder what happened. I replied to two of them, but I'm not volunteering to make a habit of that.

Of course, I used Steem Pruner to replace most of my previous posts with a link to Hive - see the announcement and update. I hosted the image added by Steem Pruner on my own website, so I can replace it with something more offensive or more up-to-date whenever I like.


movetohive.png

Posting bad content on purpose is actually not so easy, unless you simply post numbers. On openaccount, I posted a series of random boring photos. But it was a challenge to choose photos that were actually boring. I used a Python script and Irfanview to display a large random selection from my photo albums. Among these boring pictures, there are still a number I could tell you a story about. But I won't!

Then I started posting computer-generated poetry. It's all nonsense words that vaguely look like Dutch. Try reading these poems out loud, it's funny when you're in a silly mood:

evaat eens bit naulat zironnoof jersskeemre
det door spiks muulens matbegroof holsschon
den voor zop neemot bopindoop biljedif

tweehun in nap vuunik spetverdoens danmeemre
bons eens bet heefips metsonbleun bunbon
zels als pam slaames bekontmoer wepsledif

These verses were generated by a rhyming simulator I wrote in unstandardized JavaScript, back in the year of Our Lord 2000, in order to test complex rhyming schemes. It would've been easier to create a better poetry generator using a word list or text corpus, but the result would've been too good for Steem.


shitpost.png
A literal shitpost

I'm not really interested in a debate about double-dippers at this point, I'm just a monkey reporting to the academy.

Sort:  

There's no point in me posting on St++mit as my account is censored. I'm all out of there. I have tried posting on Blurt, but it's not really worth my time. I see others milking it. I would rather get on with real engagement on Hive.

Well done on powering up. It all counts.

!BEER

I guess for you it was a long goodbye to steemit. A shame what happened there, but things are going fine over here and now we are pretty much our own and fully separated chain, now we see where we take ourselves on this ride.

I still have a presence on steem, I left 100 sp on my account when I powered down, just in case I ever wanted to use it. I don't really see much sense in posting over there right now. I was going to post over there and convert the rewards to hive, but I don't get enough rewards over there to make it worth the effort.
I haven't powered up very much hive lately because I don't have very much liquid hive to power up right now. I just keep adding to my HP by writing a post every few days. It's the slow way, but it works. :-)


Hey @edb, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @edb! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 50 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 2 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Next Hive Power Up Day is November 1st 2020
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge

... leaving Steem for good

Finally 😌👍

Late reply incoming...

I myself joined Steemit after G+ closed (in February 2019), then moved to spinoff Hive (the following April) after word on the crisis began dawning on me. No regrets for not looking back (a series of leftovers known as the "Lost Five" aside).