The Hivetorch: With about a week's rest, it's time to pass it on

in #hivetorch4 years ago

image.png
Credit @delilhavores

The hive torch has been passed on to me by @thisismylife. She had asked me beforehand if I'd play. Unfortunately I have crazy slow internet where we live. And with slow, I mean really slow! I'm not talking about having 10 Mbps rather than 50 or 100. No, I can call myself lucky if our internet speeds exceed 1 Mbps. That, and having to share the internet with at least two more people in the house usually makes for lots of frustration on my end.
Around 1 AM it speeds up a bit, I think it's because most people in my area go to bed then but by that time I'm not feeling it anymore LOL.

Then I had an issue signing into my wallet. So even if I wanted to, I couldn't pass the torch on (and the hive that come with it). No use making a post about it without being able to make the transfer.
I used to use Hive Keychain for signing into my account but somehow keychain decided that my Wifi isn't private. Which it is. It's just slow.

Anyhow, I started using Hive Signer instead and that seems to solve the issue. We'll see. I will try it shortly.

And the Hive torch goes to...

I didn't have to think about this very long. For a moment I was trying to decide between a Hiver who hasn't showed his face in a while, or someone who's active on a regular basis. I thought that there may be a valid reason for the first person not to be on here at the moment, so I decided with someone who wouldn't let the torch down. And us.
@jeffjagoe is one of those Hivers I've known the longest. Not just here but in person. We met at 3 SteemFests, two weeks in Thailand at the last one with a few other crazy ones 😀, and he even visited Ireland on a few occasions. I saw him one of those times during Paddy's day in Dublin.

So here you go, @jeffjagoe...the Torch, and you're welcome 😄

Here's proof that @thisismylife sent me the Hive that come with the torch:

torch.jpg

And here the proof that I added one Hive and sent this on to @jeffjagoe

torchh.png

Here is the original post for the initiative:
https://peakd.com/hive-147983/@stayoutoftherz/hivetorch

The rules

If you got passed the Hivetorch to you, increase the amount by 1, leave it as it is, or add anything between 0 and 1. It is up to you. Don´t reduce the amount and don´t add more than 1 Hive - it is not about collecting money.
Send the Hives as soon as possible to someone who is active on Hive and whom you trust that he/she will follow the rules and forward the torch to the next one.
In the transfer, use this Memo
"Hivetorch - Count x - please read the rules at https://peakd.com/hive-147983/@stayoutoftherz/hivetorch"
whereby you increase the count no. by 1 (so if you got the memo with count "23" then put "24" in your memo).
Choose as the next Hivetorch keeper preferably someone who has not yet been selected and inform him/her about the transfer, so that the torch is kept in motion.
You are highly encouraged to create a post about the Hivetorch e.g. on peakd.com using the picture above or any other picture (the picture must contain both a torch and the Hive logo) and the tag #hivetorch. Please post it in the Hivetorch community.
After 333 transfers I will create a poll to let the community decide what to do next (continue, give the sum to a Hive-related project, distribute to minnows, burn it, etc.)

Thank you for reading!

image.png


Sort:  

thanks for the free lunch

haha jk...
but really, thanks for sending it my way! I will make sure it ends up in good hands. Hope all is goin well over there on the Emerald Isle! Shame we can't be rendevousing again in another month. Next time will be epic. Sláinte!

Yeah, waiting one year is already so long, two years is plain torture. But it will be epic, I have no doubt about that. Meanwhile we'll just hang in there and try to make the best out of a bad situation. Sláinte!

Yay, glad the interwebs was finally working with you :) lol
I would go nuts if I'd have that slow internet constantly :)

Yeah, I am going nuts on a daily basis cursing myself for not moving away from here any sooner... Wherever we move to: faster internet will be on top of my criteria list. 😅

Thanks for the mention 😊 ❤ I wish you a great day!