Timbu Bug (HNG5)

in #hng55 years ago

The Hotels.ng’s internship officially started today and so far, we’ve been handed easy tasks — tasks like the one I’m about to explain. I’ve been a bit skittish on how I would combine my full-time job with the internship because it only just started today and I’ve had to rush home quickly in order to solve my pending tasks. How I’ll do this when the tasks get harder, only God knows.

Anyway, the task that instigated this post was simple: go to timbu.com and find any [unfound] bug, when you do, blog about it. So I went there and did the first thing I usually do on any page that immediately shows me a search field with a submit button: click the giant button. So I clicked the search button without typing anything in the search box and it immediately loaded a search page. I found that odd but not buggy. It seemed more like a validation problem than a bug. So, I let that slide. Hope they fix it though.

Honestly, I found the design of the page to be nice. Maybe it was because the colors used were a mix of sky blue and white — both calming colors, I don’t know, all I know is, it looked like a page I would go to to help with insomnia. After playing around, I decided to explore countries in North America, just to see the popular destinations the site had gathered. Cuba, Nicaragua, and Puerto Rico, among many others, were listed but I had not really heard of US Virgin Islands so I decided to click on it, and voila, I found my bug.

It turns out, unlike Cuba, Nicaragua, etc. that I later clicked on, when one clicks on US Virgin Islands, one gets redirected to this page that humorously borrows from the mannerism of a Nigerian minor celebrity, Lasisi Elenu.

Here’s a picture of the page.

timbu_bug.png

I guess I could ponder on why this particular bug happened on the US Virgin Islands link. Maybe it’s some kind of lewd joke, or maybe it’s my brain that’s actually just overthinking it. I don’t know really. What I’ll say though, is, you shouldn’t visit timbu.com for any serious booking. At least not yet. Sometime soon, sure, but now, no. I’ll advise you wait a bit.

And oh, this is the link to the bug on timbu: https://timbu.com/u.s.-virgin-islands