For the king! - It begins

in #hobby3 years ago

So I unboxed everything and read through some of the manuals that came with the modelling kit. I was a tad disappointed that the contents seemed to be based on building zombies including the selection of paints this was not going to help me with my chosen English Civil War troops. Paints, as it turns out, was going to be an issue.

The first task is to clean up the figures by removing any excess casting marks. If you look at the ball on the end of the chain for example you can see a distinct line left by the mold. The Army Painter kit (See the previous post) comes with all the basics you may need including a file. I spent a few minutes cleaning up the worst marks, I've no intention at this stage of becoming a perfection zealot and prepared to paint.

Now lots of the tutorials talk about applying a base or primer coat, however, reading through the booklets it would seem this is a time-saving exercise rather than any implicit requirement. The idea being, if the base colour of the figure is blue then put a blue primer on and then you only need to paint a few additional colours. I do see the point of primers but speed is not that important to me if anything I want it to take some time, that's the whole point.

Colours

I've hit a snag, as I said earlier the kit came with some colours just not all the colours I need. For example, I want to paint the barrel brass and the gun carriage wood (Brown?) two colours I do not have. Also, the flesh colour I have is clearly no good and there are one or two other colours I'd like, this could get expensive!

I've made a start, it's pathetic I know but given the more I concentrated the more my hand shook. I'm fairly pleased with my pathetic start but I'm going to nip up the town because we have a small model shop and see if they do the paints.


"If you don't have enough voting power or crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

My actual name is Pete

Find out Here why I have the username dick_turpin.


Find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Creative Commons Licence


Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Sort:  

The model shop owner may become a new friend. At least you will be helping a local business. I really need to get new glasses and may have reached the age of needing varifocals. I struggle with reading small print or delicate work. I did some soldering a while back where I had to take my glasses off and get really close to it. Not ideal. Those helping hands things with the magnifier can help with that.

Congratulations @dickturpin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 42000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 43000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal #2

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!! Great start!!! and as all fun hobbies ......they are going to cost you :D but that is all part of the fun of it. getting new things to make with your hands. The journey is the most important part. I can not wait to see more photos of how it is going!!