The Soldier

in #holiday6 years ago (edited)

THE SOLDIER

images.jpeg

I took the job knowing i may not get rich,
I've missed so many holidays, religious and social events in order to protect lives.
I'm expected to do miracles and things other people are scared to do.
It has been proven that my life expectancy is shorter than yours because of the stress i go through and the sickness and conditions I get exposed to, yet there are no hero movies about us.
I must give my life everyday for people I don't know, never met before and even those who don't like me.
I'm out here in the cold all in the name of protecting properties and saving lives, when I should be with my family and friends celebrating the Yuletide.
I guess I'm a warrior and I took an oath to protect my country NIGERIA even to the peril of MY LIFE . I am a SOLDIER.

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR!