Sort:  

I don't either.. I am actually surprised several times a week how it's possible that people just can't see that it would be so helpful to just take a moment to try to help sending them in the right direction, instead of just thinking, ok let's just answer to not make it my problem any longer..
I mean this person here was repeating to me: it's the law I need that document bla bla bla.. and now all of the sudden she could just write a note , let me sign it and done. I guess she found out that it was their mistake indeed.. and then all of the sudden a note would do, where she sent me to the immigration office first last week (knowing that I would have to go there with toddler and boyfriend waiting for hours and hours)...

Funny thing is that the immigration office acted the same way, they didn't need the birth certificate, a note of us both was enough because we were both there and she carries my bf's name.. so the law is kind of bendable here I guess ;)

So bizarre @anouk.nox! In Canada, most believe that generally speaking, all government workers behave like robots! :)

A little kindness does go such a long way, and we never really know how our actions truly affect people, so in my mind, it's always "nice to be nice" 😅

Haha that's what it sure looks like, they have this script and list in their head to follow.. as soon as a person comes with a question or issue outside of those guidelines, their head explodes alarm bells go off and they can't seem to manage anymore.. Most seem not able to think for themselves..

Yes its always nice to be nice, keep being nice hehe .. because that's nice ;)