You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Easy Homemade Salsa!!! ~ #makeitdontbuyit

in #homemade4 years ago

Very nice! I really like Roma tomatoes for most of the stuff I make too. They are good without tasting too tomatoey. I love using cilantro. I have never thought to add oil to my salsa before.

Sort:  

I just got a tip from one of my regulars that there is a pick your own tomato farm like 15 minutes from my house, and get this....50 cents a pound! I just bought some Roma's the other day from the grocery store and they were 2 bucks a pound, holy cow!

The oil really smooths out all the flavors. Gives it a nice glisten, and all the juices seem to coagulate better together with the oil. It seems odd, oil & water and all that, but it just works :)

I will for sure have to try that next time I make some. My cousin has a farm and he lets us come and pick all the corn we want. You better take advantage of that tomato place! I see a lot of canning in your future!