10 YEAR OLD PROGRAMMER - Arduino Project: Distance Detector in C#

in #homeschool7 years ago (edited)

Hello, my name is Joshua. I am The Homeschool Kid.
Today I am going to show you one of my favorite Arduino programming projects. It is called the Distance Detector. This Arduino project came in a kit made for teaching Arduino programming to kids. This kit was made by https://mycreationcrate.com.
The Distance Detector's sensor shoots out ultrasonic sound waves that are so high pitched, you can't hear them. They act like a bat's echo location. Boats use this technology for locating things under water. It's called Sonar. ultrasonic waves are also used in an ultrasound, to take a picture of the baby inside the mom.
This is a picture of the Distance Detector's sensor.

IMG_20170703_154910.jpg
"The Distance Detector" shoots outs sound waves from one of the holes and when they hit the object, they bounce back into the other hole. So, it measures how long it takes for the sound waves to bounce off the object and reach back to the sensor. In this way, it measures the distance of an object.
Watch this video to see the Distance Detector in action.

Stay tuned for more Arduino programming projects.
Please Follow and Upvote!

Sort:  

welldone.., this is good ..keep it up

This is awesome Joshua

very good keep up the good work.i hope to see more.

Excellent article, and very interesting subject. Great job young man!! Keep up the good work. I love learning something new, and everyday I do here at steemit. :C) up-voted.

Right on! Keep up the great work! you have a bright future ahead of you

the item in the first picture looks like a ghetto blaster :) (radio) so I'm thinking this is part of a science project ?

I think you are precious asset to earth's future. Keep it up (y).

nice !! Good job !!

Good work! That is an extremely early start on working on this type of project!

Is it ultraviolet waves? That seems like that would be a light wave not a sound wave. Is it maybe ultrasonic waves that it emits?

Yes, I think he has it switched up. Ultraviolet would not be a good thing for sonograms.

Its a simple sound based module that sends a sound (or call it frequency) and listens to returning sound and measures time difference between sound sent/received. Than you simply do math with sound propagation speed and time delay and get distance.

Awesome job HSK. I've been playing around with some Arduino stuff as well, just for the fun of it. Keep at it and you will be in demand in the future work force. If only I could get my daughter interested....

Great job man! Keep at it. My son loves this.

Good luck on your Arduino experiments.

I have an interest, but never have had the time to get anything done, too many things in the fire. I wish there was something like this when I was a kid. We just had Radio Shack.

Good job Joshua. @ironshield

Impressive. I just started homeschooling my 10yr son. I'm going to follow you as I am interested in your posts.

Good job! I graduated with some engineers who don't understand this kind of thing!

That is very cool!! My brother has been very interested in coding, programming and robotics recently, so I'm picking up quite a bit of information from him, so if you need any help, feel free to ask anything you want.

Congratulations @thehomeschoolkid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!