Science Experiment: Cartesian Diver

in #homeschool7 years ago (edited)

Hello, my name is Joshua. I am The Homeschool Kid.
Today I am going to show you one of my favorite science experiments. It is called the Cartesian Diver. The Cartesian Diver is a very classic experiment. It is named after a french philosopher and mathematician named Rene Descartes.
This science experiment demonstrates Archimedes' principle. According to The Usborne Science Encyclopedia, "Archimedes' principle states that the upthrust acting on an object is equal to the weight of the fluid that the object displaces. This means that the spays the object takes up the more fluid it pushes aside.
Watch this video if you would like to make it.


Stay tuned for more fun science experiments.
Please Follow and Upvote

Sort:  

cool i like it what other experiments have you done?

Thanks Joshua, I'm going to have to try that! Looks fun!

dayum that's awesome

I know, it's my favorite!

That is very cool. I appreciated your explanation of why the vial sank, and then rose again, as I suspected voodoo.

So why does the water that was forced into the vial come back out when you release the pressure on the soda bottle?

That's what I've been trying to find out.

I will let you know why wen I find out.

It works like a submarine. The bellows are full of air that allows the sub to surface. Compressing the air makes the air fit into a smaller space. Water then takes the place of the compressed air making the sub Less buoyant causing it to sink. When the water is released the air fills the void pushing all the water out causing the sub to be more buoyant. Now the sub will rise.

Hello, I like your post greetings from Venezuela

Good job Joshua. I'm glad I learned something today. Thank-you.