Simply nothing

in #homeschooling7 months ago (edited)

So @nonameslefttouse's post made me think about nothing. Does nothing actually equals 0? Because sometimes doing nothing has consequences.

Untitled1_20230920214353.png

What are the consequences of doing nothing when you should have been doing something? And how can you tell if you should have done something or not beforehand?

I know for a fact we should do more. But we often focus our energy on doing nothing. We work so hard doing nothing that in the end we are tired to do the useful stuff.

So many people doing nothing 40 hours a week. All their lives. Because doing nothing is sometimes doing something. Something that has no meaning, no intention.

Sometimes I feel like I should strive to bring more to the world. Art is one way of doing that I feel.

Sometimes I play live guitar sessions and some random person says :

Hi, I like what you're doing

I feel like that's meaningful. Or sometimes it's just taking care of my garden, seeing the tomatoes grow and knowing it will feed my family.

You know, meaning is important. And now I feel bad for tagging @nonameslefttouse. Sorry dude.

Good day 😌

Sort:  

Or someone like myself currently working more than 80 hours a week, seems like everything, but achieve absolutely nothing other than trading my life for a tiny wage.

Crazy right? Hope you manage to have what you want from life ❤️

I think what you need to start looking into is, Everything.

But isn't everything just a lot of nothing?

I think it's mostly something. But, it could be anything.

The kind of thread legends are made of. We need more funny people on Hive

Does nothing actually equals 0?

0 is something, it holds a concrete value as a number. Adding any number to zero results in that same number. On the other hand, nothing is a more abstract notion, representing the complete absence of anything. The word "nothing" is often used incorrectly, in my opinion. Interestingly, if we try to define "nothing", well that definition will be something. In other words: attempting to define "nothing" inevitably results in creating a definition, which paradoxically makes it something.
I don't claim to have the final say on this issue, but I just wanted to share what is on my mind right now.