You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fall Update from the Homestead

in #homestead7 years ago

I wish I could get some chickens. They're not technically "allowed" or "not allowed" in my area, but that means the county could suddenly show up and decide they aren't allowed, and I'd have to get rid of them. : (

Sort:  

That's terrible. I know more and more places are allowing small flocks as the tree in urban homesteading is gaining a lot of popularity. Before we moved to Virginia I lived in a housing community that would not allow chickens either. That is why when we moved here I made sure to find a place that would allow for us to have the homestead we have always wanted. Maybe checking with your county and petitioning for the ability to have a few hens in your backyard might be worth it. I know some places will allow you to have hens but no roosters.

I'm currently trying to move to another state where we'll have more property and be more free in what we can do on our own land. So, hopefully some time next year I should be in a better place where I can have them. : )