Fall Update from the Homestead

in #homestead7 years ago

Greetings from the Homestead - its been a while since I have posted. With work, school starting and many projects on the homestead I have found little time for social media.
where to start...where to start...
well, lets see we since put a barn for our chickens and goats and have even made a few improvements. We now have a pretty pink barn. I am thinking of painting windows and a flower boxes on the side too.
pink barn.jpg
not only have we transformed this shed into a barn we have given it a few upgrades to make cleaning a little easier as well as give a nice plush place for the goats and chickens to rest at night.
we have put in rubber mats and built new nesting boxes for the hens too. Now we just have to get these ladies laying. I have tried putting some ceramic eggs in the boxes to try and interest the ladies in starting to produce some eggs - will let you know how that works out.
barn improvements.jpg
I am coming to realize that I need to build a second barn/shelter for my goats as our flock grown and we intend to buy more hens next month too. As well, I plan to breed my little Frigg once she is old enough in about another 12 to 14 months. I plan to try my hand at making cheese and soap with the milk.
It has not been all work and no play though. My husband and I took the girls for a little outing at a local fall festival where they got to build their own Scare Crow. We call him Scary Garry.
fall fun.jpg

Not much to update from the garden though. I have a very small fall garden going this year. Just planted some peas, radishes, carrots, potatoes and going to see if I can squeak in some winter squash. I also have some cabbage that still needs to be transplanted. Peas are doing fantastic already and we should be able to raise enough to can or freeze a few meals.

Happy Homesteading friends.

Sort:  

What a cute hen house. I am attracted to anything colorful. My whole homestead looks like a paint truck wrecked here. It makes me so happy. I think adding the window and flower boxes would be a delight to look out on and it'll be fun to do as well.

Me too @themerrylotus !! I love pretty colorful things. it will be a fun project for the girls and I this coming weekend I think.

I love the way that those nesting boxes for the chickens look in your shed. Simple, yet practical. Good work!

Thanks! I gotta give the credit to my husband. He is not what I would call a typical handy man...but he makes it work. I was a little skeptical at first when he just started cutting holes into the back of my shed.

Congratulations @bthompson, this post is the seventh most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1212 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $904.50. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Good work you guys we have been super busy too so I know how you feel. Keep up the good work!

I wish I could get some chickens. They're not technically "allowed" or "not allowed" in my area, but that means the county could suddenly show up and decide they aren't allowed, and I'd have to get rid of them. : (

That's terrible. I know more and more places are allowing small flocks as the tree in urban homesteading is gaining a lot of popularity. Before we moved to Virginia I lived in a housing community that would not allow chickens either. That is why when we moved here I made sure to find a place that would allow for us to have the homestead we have always wanted. Maybe checking with your county and petitioning for the ability to have a few hens in your backyard might be worth it. I know some places will allow you to have hens but no roosters.

I'm currently trying to move to another state where we'll have more property and be more free in what we can do on our own land. So, hopefully some time next year I should be in a better place where I can have them. : )