Peaches

in #homestead7 years ago

IMG_0021.JPG

Last September I was walking through the Home Depot garden center and noticed pallets of fruit trees being offered at $10 apiece. It was WAY past time to be planting these where I live and we were in a horrible drought. But for that price I gambled and bought 12 trees. We dug the holes twice as deep as the root balls and filled the bottom half with composted chicken manure and planted. Then began the almost religious practice of watering during a drought. I almost gave up several times and ended up losing two of the trees anyway. We have had great rainfall this year and my trees are producing a nice bounty in gratitude of my efforts I suppose. The peaches are the tastiest I have ever eaten. This has been most satisfying. I may start cruising Home Depot again looking for the markdowns :)

Follow @olmech

Sort:  

I just ate dried peaches :))

Nice lookin peaches
They look juicy !!!

Our peach trees are so full this year we had to thin some of the fruit because the branches were falling down from the weight. I think last year was out first harvest and the peaches were like nothing I ever tasted from a store.
Last year the drought was bad but this year, so far, we seem to have made up the deficit and all the fruit trees are full.
Planting deep with all that chicken manure probably helped a lot.

Oh that's a wonderful problem to have!

Please come by for a virtual pick your own Party.

My favorite fruit!