Strawberries - First Fruits

in #homestead6 years ago (edited)

Today I was working on a lighting project when I saw our first rise strawberry of the year. It is a smaller one but I'm sure it will taste wonderful. I typically let our youngest family member enjoy the first ones. This seems to create additonal excitement at the house.20180422_155343.jpg20180422_155347.jpg

Spring seems to be later than normal this year but the moisture has been good which the plants are enjoying.

Things have been a little crazy around here, but spring is one of our favorite seasons! Happy planting and harvesting!

Sort:  

Gotta love seeing that burst of red peeking through and signaling a wallop of flavour! I love that you give the first strawberry of the season to your youngest family member. Who ever was born last is going to get a lot of firsts. Ha ha ha! -Aimee

Nice to see a post! Yesterday was the first Sunday in 3 weeks where it was not either raining or snowing so I took advantage of it and was able to finally get a start on preparing the garden beds!

Thank you! Glad to hear your weather is starting to turn into spring.

How exciting! I'm waiting for those...not my own, but our Amish neighbors sell them. They are amazing. What a blessing

Having a good source is the key!

I love fresh sun heated berries....

My kids agree with you 100%. I usually wait till they are in full swing before I start eating them.

Nice!

Thanks my friend!

That first strawberry of the season is always the best!

Yes - these berries taste wonderful. They are smaller than other varieties but great flavor!

Shabbat shalom @shalomacres! Enjoy the blessing of firstfruits