You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Green Tomatoes = Pumpkin Spice Chutney - Community Assist!!

in #homesteading6 years ago

That's certainly an interesting way to use up the green tomatoes!
I didn't have any green ones this year, the plants got infested with whiteflies and the crop went all to hell. I have to figure out better methods of fighting those bugs.

Sort:  

Did you plant any marigolds? My wife bought a flat or two and planted them all throughout the garden. They add color and brightness and help deter pests. Seemed to have worked decently for the 6 legged kind. Rodents though have been a brutal frustration! Just a hint of color and they are biting and breaking and stealing. I need to get some cats that stay in our yard like a dog would.

Peace

I always plant marigolds between the tomato plants. In the past they've worked pretty well for keeping bugs away. The whiteflies were so bad this year, they even infested the marigolds to some extent.