Green Tomatoes = Pumpkin Spice Chutney - Community Assist!!

in #homesteading6 years ago

It's that season, right!?

Pumpkin Spice...... EVERYTHING!!!?????

Why not for a chutney as well? Americans will probably ask: "What's a chutney?"
My answer: A spread or a sauce made from end-of-season ingredients. That, is what it is to me. But this is my first time making or trying a chutney, so don't rely on my answer.... Internet it!!

Capture+_2018-10-04-22-41-48.png

Backstory: we had over 20 tomato plants in our 30'x50' backyard this year. Last year we had nearly 30. The season is late and the nights are getting cool in Michigan.....So we have LOTS of green tomatoes that will not be ripening. Same problem we had last year!!!

And last year, about this time, is when I saw this and took the screen capture:

Capture+_2017-10-23-23-26-32~2.png
When I saw this link last year we had already given away or disposed of all our green tomatoes. So I never tried the recipe. HERE is the link to @jkiw's post. I wish she was still active so I could say "thank you." At least I can say "Thanks" to @mariannewest for the share.


So this post isn't going to be the recipe or cooking directions. Follow the link for that. And.....I never follow directions well anyway. My cooking is much more haphazard than that. (9/10 times it still turns out well....sometimes...it doesnt.)

Here are a few of my improvs:

  • I don't know metric well for cooking terms. So I noticed some relationships based on ratios. 1/3 the onions and 1/4 (but I did maybe 1/3) the apples compared to your green tomatoes. Etc.
  • I used about another 1/4 portion of pie pumkin(it's a variety). I pureed it with some of the tomatoes.
  • I used less sugar and maybe more salt than her portions.
  • I added nutmeg, but no cinnamon....I wanted to, but we were out.
  • and I used curry powder, and powdered ginger instead of fresh(use what you have and don't fret!!).
  • and we had some fresh red chillies, so I added 3. Hot seeds and all!!

Capture+_2018-10-04-22-43-39.png

It made 3 quart jars.

Capture+_2018-10-04-22-42-58.png

I cooked it down to a thick salsa/dip consistency. And did a simple canning method as she mentioned. This is probably all going to be consumed in the next 2 weeks or less.

If everyone loves it, I'll be making a bigger batch to overwinter. We have plenty of green tomatoes and.... pumkin(Thanks to a friend!!).

Capture+_2018-10-04-22-46-12.png

First impressions?? It's pretty good. My wife said so. :-D
It's cooling off in the jars, and I want to try some on toast, and on crackers.....but that first taste(licking the pot clean) has me really excited for it. I look forward to making a lot more!!


How do you preserve and put away your end-of-season bounty?

And what is chutney to you(esp. for our English friends!)?

Peace

em3_blue.png
DQmb1Rtf12khtkDMx67EZcXttnYBXiNKu3aQBZFV2oCjmFK.gif

Sort:  

Oh yum! Pumpkin everything! Even chutney!

I am so glad that it was a useful comment! And so glad that you got to use your green tomatoes!! Thank you for the encouraging words 😄

Me too! Me too... And thanks so much!!

AWESOME!
While I am not fond of pumpkin spice coffee creamers... I'm wondering if the chutney would change my mind!

Are you back east now? Or still in the mountains?

No worries. It tastes nothing like any "Pumkin Spice" product or drink. It is good, and the kids seemed okay with it. So def making more soon.

Yes, I am back in MIA(Michigan area) lol.

I keep talking to @ironshield about a meetup. Maybe you know a dive joint in your area we can all get together at.

Looks pretty interesting. I think it was two years ago my dad was trying to save the green tomatoes we had. But after sitting on the counter for 2 or 3 weeks they got trashed.

We like chips and salsa, so this is probably a perfect idea! Thank you. 😃😘🙋👏

You are welcome. Let me know if you give it a try!!

Peace

Our organic garden (Netherlands) has I think 20 kilo of green tomatoes end of the season (now). The boss makes chutney in little pots and sells these. Chili powder is included and the rest I will check today.

Very cool! Yes, I am interested to hear more about your local recipe!

Thanks!

As long as it is spicy enough to feel like this when you eat it, I'm in!

Hilarious!!
PapaPepper's outdoor snake handling church takes a turn for the worse. Fortunately for the would be preacher.... It wasn't a venomous snake.


No...I don't think this batch of chutney will be THAT spicy. Maybe I'll kick up the next batch a notch or two.

You are too funny!!!

Have you seen @mericanhomestead's YouTube video of PP and some others eating Ghost Pepper chips? It's hard to watch. Them guys were nuts. For the first 5 min PP is sitting there like its nothing.

That is crazy!! I have to watch it!!! Thank you.

Ouch! That didn't look cool! Was it venomous? Did you go to the hospital??

I don't like tomatos but i'm sure it tastes good to you!
|/,,

Yes it does! Y e s i t d o e s!!!!
XD

8-P

That's certainly an interesting way to use up the green tomatoes!
I didn't have any green ones this year, the plants got infested with whiteflies and the crop went all to hell. I have to figure out better methods of fighting those bugs.

Did you plant any marigolds? My wife bought a flat or two and planted them all throughout the garden. They add color and brightness and help deter pests. Seemed to have worked decently for the 6 legged kind. Rodents though have been a brutal frustration! Just a hint of color and they are biting and breaking and stealing. I need to get some cats that stay in our yard like a dog would.

Peace

I always plant marigolds between the tomato plants. In the past they've worked pretty well for keeping bugs away. The whiteflies were so bad this year, they even infested the marigolds to some extent.

Lol excellent post, thanks for the idea! And nice way to improve the recipe!