Halloween Pumpkin Carving Contest!!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

It occurs to me that Halloween is the perfect time to highlight our Homesteaders Community, because...

PUMPKINS!

It's all well and good to preserve your produce for later use, but who can resist having a little fun with one or two or ten for this particular holiday. Besides, you can feed the remains to the livestock afterwards, right? Since Halloween is this coming Tuesday, I'm going to keep this contest simple.

Rules:

  1. Carve a pumpkin or other squash any way you wish. (Try to keep it clean for the kiddies, please. Thanks!)

  2. Proof it's your creation by the addition of an identifying card showing your Steemit Name, Steemit Logo, Date of the Photo, and the Hashtag #HomesteadersHalloween.

  3. Limit 2 entries. Use separate comments for each entry.

  4. Post the picture in the comments below. Most votes wins! You can do a separate post, but only those in the comments will be counted.

  5. Upvote this post for the Prize Pool. Whoever gets the most votes on their entry in the comments at the time of payout gets the SBD! (Optional: Resteem to increase visibility, participation, general fun, and of course, the Prize Pool.)

  6. Bonus - If the winner shows proof the squash of choice was obtained from their garden OR a farm stand and I'll throw in 5 Steem for supporting local growers.

That's it! Have at it and may the best gourd win!


Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Photo source: Pixabay

Sort:  

23113336_10155918350432244_846694956_n.jpg
These 2 best friends had a great time, watching the "Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown"

meagan Edyn Pumkin.jpg
#homesteading #gardening #halloween #contest

Oooh... lots of messy fun! Great choice on the movie, too. Very appropriate!

Thanks for the entry and best of luck in the contest!

Back checking on things here for the Pumpkin post!

Oh Gee I got so busy, my son coming home from University this weekend, so lots of MOM'S home cooking. LOL Banana Bread, Lasagna, just me being a mom, but forgot all about the contest, thanks for the reminder.

Well, I can take leftovers if he is driving by me in the Oshawa area back to school LOL

jada new pumpkin.jpg
This is from my daughter @jadabug She took this on approximately 10/27 and it was to announce her first baby...ain't it so sweet says grandma to be. #homesteadershalloween
Happy Day!
Melissa

Love it, our daughter's can be so creative.

Very clever and sweet!

she is a treasure! ty

Agh. I did the photo shoot with out my name and date on it. I can't do it again because I turned it into pumpkin soup. Good luck to all entrants.

OMG I love Pumpkin Soup, so creamy. I got a recipe from The Ritz Carleton Hotel. I just email them and asked them for the recipe and they sent it to me. GO figure. Like @aunt-deb said below you still have lots of time to carve another one.

I might have too. I do want more soup, it was fantastic.

The contest ends when this post pays out, just fyi. There's time to do a second one, if you'd like...

I am back here checking on one of your 2 posts for your contest, to see the progress and entries and see how it is going Eddie.

(:

Hi bud! Looks like we have two entries so far. Pretty good for a late, spur of the moment idea. Lol!

Have a nice weekend Deb. Say hi to your husband for me please.

And your radishes

lol

;~D

You, too and will do!

It really was honestly.

You have lots of great ideas.

Not carving a pumpkin this year.. but I'll UV and RS for you.

Thanks so much! That helps a lot!

Thank @barrydutton ... I found your post from his blog..

Will do. He's a good egg!

Good idea my friend. I haven't carved a pumpkin in a long time. 🐓🐓
Booo!

Thanks! Beats bobbing for apples... LOL!

I love that cat one!

Made me smile, too! They did a good job w the gif also.

Upvoted and resteemed.

RT for you too. Nice work on this, it is a good idea.

Appreciate the assist! My initial timing for the post was ill-considered, so the extra visibility is very helpful!

I am doing a quick post for you on this, as I head out the door in 3 mins, someone is waiting for me, I am directing traffic to THIS post for you.

Sweet! Thanks again, bud!

and RS this also. This is great on so many levels honestly, good idea Deb.

Seemed like a fun challenge. Easy, too, since so many folks are doing carving anyway. We will see...

Oh and I just donated some SBD to your Pumpkin / Homesteading contest a couple mins ago, so now there is some more winnings there to be had if you want to check it out. I hope it helps.

I would say you could even do another post now for it, and link to your first post if you want, since it is pretty relevant having something else available for the pot.

It is almost time for half price Halloween candy LOL

Awesome and thanks a bunch! I'll do just that... stay tuned...

unfortunately we don't have pumpkins around here, but I'll upvote to be a part of the fun.🎃

The more the merrier and thanks for chipping in to the Prize Pool with your upvote!

Bummer on the lack of pumpkins, though. Hopefully, we'll get a collection here for you to enjoy...

I miss Halloween. We don't officially celebrate it where I live. I miss the carved out pumpkins with all their scary faces.

The carving some people do is just amazing! I'm totally envious of their skills. I generally stick to the triangle eyes & nose and a toothy smile. Simple & easy.

At least treat yourself to some candy in honor of the holiday. It's the perfect excuse to indulge!

Morning aunt-deb....great contest. Probably wont enter as rubbish at carving pumpkins but just wanted to say hello 👋

Hi hon! Thanks and no worries. I'm always glad to see you!

We don't grow pumpkins any more but love the carvings and fun kids have with it all. I friend from New York sent me some photos of a pumpkin carving artist: Ray Villafane from Queens, New York and he is amazing. I believe he does sand sculpting as well. Enjoy your Halloween celebrations!

It's amazing what folks can do with these things! (Sand sculpting, too.) The creativity is endless and never ceases to bring a smile! Thanks for the support!

Twitter link... spread the word!