Garden Update: Harvest Day!

in #homesteading4 years ago

It's been a really long time since my last garden update and a lot has happened since my last post.

For starters the grow house is gone.

It was a great idea except every time we has strong winds come through the arch would collapse and would need to be fixed. I don't know if we had the windiest year last year or if the construction was really bad, but either way the grow house didn't work for us and it had to go. Which was such a shame because we really need something like it.

One of the things I hate and love about living in the Blue Mountains are the birds. They're great and they're a major pain in the arse at the same time.

I've realised if we weren't trying to grow our own food the birds wouldn't be that bad, but we are and I'm learning all about their dark side. The scavenger, destroyer of veggie gardens side.

The Citrus Corner. This is where the lemon, orange and calamari trees live.

That's pretty much what prompted today's harvest.

We've been nurturing these citrus trees for months now and have been waiting for the right time to pick the fruits.

This morning when I was out hanging the washing I noticed orange skins on the lawn and saw we were missing a couple of oranges. Instantly I knew them bloody cockatoos got to them and that if I didn't harvest now I wouldn't get to try them again this year.

Interestingly enough they seem to leave plants alone once it goes wild.

Exhibit A. The Parsley 👇

Top: Parsley. Bottom Left: Spring Onion. Bottom Right: Sage.

There was a time I was concerned about it's survival. Every day I went outside it seemed like it had gotten a trim to the point where there were no leaves left. Now look at it?!!

It was great for a while, but there's only so much tabbouleh a girl can have. Even though it is a source of Vitamin C.

While I was sussing out the plants I figured I may as well see what else was due for picking.

The C19 Panic Planting Section: Lettuce, Radish, Carrots, Beans, Kale, Beetroot.

I did a mad panic planting of seeds around the time Aussies were panic hoarding TP of plants that were suppose to be quick growing.

I can vouch for the radish and lettuce since they're both ready to eat now. The beans grew very quickly but I've yet to harvest any beans. The carrots look like they're almost ready but it's a definite FAIL for the kale and beetroot ~ these didnt grow at all.

I also planted seeds in the raised beds but they didn't survive. I think I need to work the soil and figure out a watering system.... and a netting system...

With the baby, me working on weekends and house chores we really haven't had time for the garden and it looks it. I'm hoping to remedy that in a couple of weeks though.

Here are the fruits of our labour.

Today's Harvest: Oranges, Lemons & Radishes.

Not the biggest harvest ☝️ but it's better than nothing and at least we get to try the oranges this year!

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

hive.blog/@hiveph ° Supporting Filipinos Worldwide

Sort:  

Your harvest looks so good and healthy, you have the birds and we have the monkeys to contend with; our peas have started flowering and we still have not monkey-proofed it, will have to do it very soon or else!
Have a good weekend my friend and blessings to you and Marian:)

Thank you @lizelle! We still haven't eaten any of them yet so I'm hoping they taste as good as they look :) Monkeys sound fun and exotic!! Hope you have a great weekend!

Oh my word @bearone, you must think me quite dotty;);)
That will teach me to start chatting when it's way past my bedtime (like now again), thought this was @papilloncharity I was talking to therefore Marian popped up;);)
The monkeys never fail to entertain us even after all these years;)
Enjoy your veggie garden!

I checked out the greenhouse when you posted about it way back. We have lots of wind here, and it didn't look like it would survive. So i was curious as to what your experience would be...

You know... I think it's because we used the bird netting. It allowed too much flex and movement which resulted to the arches snapping out of the connections.

I did considering swapping the netting for chicken wire which I envisioned might provide more support for the whole house.

Unfortunately we just don't have that sort of time anymore.

If you do give it a go, try it with chicken wire! I'm thinking it might hold up better in windy conditions.

So wonderful eating one's own home grown veggies and fruit

Ohh it is!! Its a great feeling to be able to walk outside and grab food. :)

nice, you're not just harvesting fruits and etc but also you're enjoying planting in your garden.

Wait, really that birds have a bad side too? lol
So you're feeding them as well by your plants?

Yep! Though I haven't spent as much time planting this year.

And Yes, birds have a bad side. Aussie birds are freeloading arseholes. Mind you, theres bush land all around me, it's not like they're lacking natural food source but they prefer to attack my crops. 🤬

maybe someone told them that your crops are delicious.lol

Lol maybe!!

Babies love helping with gardening ;D

I don't know how much the birds know or care about human eccentricities, all they see is an easy source of food.

Harvest looks tasty :D