You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Plug it in, you idiot! That's what it's there for!

in #homesteading6 years ago

While I'm still an idiot for not planning ahead, I am at least a wee bit exonerated since even when it warmed up, the starter would lug a few turns before finally spooling up and starting the truck. Then it just quit. I'd never had a starter die quite like that before... usually seemed it was the solenoid that would fail. But I climbed up into her bowels, and replaced the starter, now she's eager to start before I can even let go of the key. One part at a time I guess.

Sort:  

Congrats on the new starter! And don't feel too bad, I live in the frozen tundra and because I was too cheap to buy antifreeze and create the right mix, I ounce had the freeze plugs pop out of the block. That's maximum idiocy right there.

It's amazing how life can interfere with doing things properly. I think my mantra is something to the effect of "ohhhh, that's something that really needs to be done...later"