First load of pallets

in #homesteading6 years ago

I got 12 pallets, each 4ftx12ft



IMG_20181203_125029327.jpg

While browsing Craigslist today I happened upon a listing in the free section for pallets. The listing was from a few days ago but it showed a large number of pallets available for free. I decided to load up the boys, the trailer, and we went to see what was available. Of the original amount in the listing there was about a 1/4 of the pallets left. I pulled up next to the stacks and loaded up this pile to bring home.

While I was strapping down the pallets a guy drove up to check them out and he said he would be back for some. I am going to be leaving in a little bit, as soon as @stryeyz gets home from work, to go and make sure I can get another load of at least 12 pallets. These things are huge, each contains a large amount of wood, and have massive potential.


IMG_20181203_125048506.jpg

I will post in the morning the pictures of my unloaded haul. I have a bunch of ideas for uses of these so the more I can get the better.

I LOVE FREE!

BTS = jwf

Token = FFFARM

Check out my:

Whaleshares blog | Steemit blog | Scorum blog


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

Feel free to join our Discord server to find out more about our BTS token FFFarm.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!




Learn how to join the Byteball WCG Distribution!


FFF Runic.png


Sort:  

Nice haul! Looks like a proper homesteader's jackpot!

I'm hoping for at least double this tonight too. fingers crossed

I have a friend who collected hardwood pallets and used them for flooring in his house. It's really cool, and rustic although much more work than he had expected.

I bet that was a lot of work. Having to surface each one to make it somewhat smooth let alone the disassembly. I am not nearly the much of a glutton for punishment to try that, though it could produce an amazing floor.

I have found pallets to be very useful. I had a bunch sitting around after a project. I cut them up and burned them as firewood.

Pallet wood can be very unique, and beautiful for construction projects.

Love what you guys are doing!

I am super stoked on these since normally I have been finding regular 4x3s, but these are 4x12 and a few of them are closer slats that run lengthwise. I hope to get more of the closer ones tonight since they are 5 feet wide, not 4.

I have found that they are perfect for window, and door trim (if you don't mind rusticity). I like it when the slats are close together. I use a few now as temp door stoops. Some I have found have full size 1x4s. Just like straight from local sawmill.

These are all dimensional cut lumber so the runners are actually 2x4. I got 15 more tonight but they have fewer slats, but still the dimensional runners. Buildings will be built soon. The el nino winter means I am not having to contend with snow on the ground so I can actually still accomplish some things around the farm.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @flemingfarm!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.953 which ranks you at #3836 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 275 contributions, your post is ranked at #58.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server