ColorChallenge : Tuesday Orange - rosehips + recipe

in #homesteading7 years ago

Hello all today i want to talk about Rosehips. ( also called rose haw and rose hep)
SAM_0479.JPG
SAM_0480.JPG

This kind of plants can be found all over the world in the wild and they can be used in many ways. First of all lets talk about their pluses.
They have Vitamin C 5-10 times more than in the black currant, 40 times more than in lemons. Also this fruits improves metabolism, and help with liver and kidney.

Recipe: Compote with rosehips

We will need : 1 kilo of fresh rosehips(not dried) , 2.5l of water , 2 cups of honey. ( if you want more rich taste i suggest you to add pears,apples,orange peels )

First we need to rinse rosehips and remove seeds. After add them to a potion of water and cook them in small temperature until they are soft . Then grind them (you can use pestle ) and add honey and remaining water . Then we continue to cook in small temperature until it boils. Now remove from the plate and give it time to cool. After pour it into jars, cork it and store in a cool place.
Fruits must be fresh and matured . (usually in autumn)

Sort:  

Interesting and I have never actually heard of them myself or seen any, here in Australia. Good shots though and they look like they make some awesome stuff.

@gadgetsan got you a $4.75 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@gadgetsan got you a $4.75 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

I have it in my garden. I try your recipe.
Come to me. Look at my photos.

Hey, my name is Nadine and I am new on steemit. I would be happy if you could check out my post and maybe follow back. Thank you
https://steemit.com/travel/@leo-tmp/explore-the-beauty-of-northern-thailand-pai-my-travel-diary
I really like your post. Very nice :-)

Good vibes, I love this competition and thanks for taking the time to add the tips, gave you a follow :)

Congratulations @gadgetsan, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1812 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1414.92. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Yummy love rose hips, they are a real power house of goodness.

I saw you don’t have a Steemit Profile Picture I made a story post to make it simply to do. https://steemit.com/steemit/@isteemithard/how-to-upload-a-profile-picture-and-or-cover-image-to-your-steemit-account

I like your ColorChallenge post. 📷
Any way if you and anyone reading this would like to see my #colorchallenge post
Check it out https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@isteemithard/colorchallenge-wednesdayyellow-but-wait-isn-t-today-tuesday-that-depends

Beautiful shots !

Will have to try this recipe!

Amazing, keep on posting

You are picking a lot of rosehips, with that recipe that starts with 2 kilos -- that's 4.5 pounds of rosehips! But when rosehips are large and plentiful like your photos, it's pretty efficient and worth the effort! Wild roses grow in so many places! I use rosehips from my garden plants, too -- but I don't spray them.

Those are some pretty rosehips! They are worth foraging, for sure! Looking forward to seeing your compote, too! Happy foraging!