5 Years! Where Did the Time Go?

Pam and David framed Aug. 2017.jpg

When I started blogging on January 23, 2018 I knew I wanted to post every day and had laid out 3 months of post topics. I had no idea I would continue for this long, still posting nearly every day.

5 Years Jan. 2023.jpg

Well, I've made it 5 years. Some posts don't amount to much, mostly a sort of diary of what I've done, or lately, not done each day. I've saved every post and all the photos in word docs and often use the files for memory aids.

Small garden and middle pasture crop Jan. 2023.jpg

Many of my photos are of the beauty I see around me on the farm.

Middle pasture - bit of sun crop Jan. 2023.jpg

On Thursday I again had another bad day, not sure if it's long Covid, the new inhaler, both, or neither. But it was not a good day. The high point was when the sun came out briefly off and on all day. It had been a while since we'd had any sunshine.

Marianna's amaryllis - 2nd bud crop Jan. 2023.jpg

The amaryllis I had gotten for Christmas had started a new bud once the original 2 blooms had faded.

I mostly read or slept all day, just keeping the fire going in the wood stove.

On Friday my general helper and my helper friend will be here and I hope to get the office Christmas tree down and put away. We also have shopping to do.

Sort:  

It is amazing how time flies, and the great thing about Hive is that we can save our memories and share them. It is wonderful to look back at that five years and see what happened.

Hello lovely lady! 😊

Congratulations on 5 years of blogging, that's impressive! 😊

You and I started blogging for similar reasons, keeping track of things done/not done and when. Sometimes I look back into some of my earlier posts and am amazed at how much we've done around the homestead and other days I don't and wonder if we've really made any progress at all. We moved to raw ground when we started and weren't as knowledgeable as we should have been at the start, but we still have done quite a bit in the years we've been here. If only we could go back in time and tell ourselves of the things we learned, so we wouldn't make the mistakes we made, but then we wouldn't have learned the lessons we did either, never mind, I don't want to go back. LOL! 😊

I've got to go get a dog or two back into the house, so I'll chat with you again later. 😊

God bless you and your wonderful family. Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! 😊

Yeah, I wish I knew more about taking care of the soil and growing food, without having to learn it for the reason I did, i.e. Lyme disease, etc. We didn’t make too many mistakes, none I’d want to re-do or do over, whatever I mean…

Mostly I’m pleased with how we built the farm, house and all.

If we could go back we'd have the barn over in our main pasture, behind where our garage is now. Our garage would be on the other side of the driveway and our house would be where the garage is now, but turned at an angle so we'd get to still enjoy the sunrises and sunsets without being roasted while trying to cook a meal in the kitchen. Oh, well, it is what it is and we adapted to accommodate our errors in planning and we're happy, so it's all good. :D

Congrats on 5 years!!!!

I am so, so happy that you wandered your way onto here all those years ago, love your posts😊

!PIZZA

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@generikat(1/15) tipped @goldenoakfarm (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

Happy Anniversary! I know there are bitter memories, sad realities and disappointments along the way but these only serve to highlight all the joys and happiness and good things that came along with them. Life. I won't give it up for anything. Just glad to be a part of your journey 🥰

Congratulations on 5 years of Hive!