A Cozy Snowy Day - February 25, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

Snowstorm 7AM crop Feb. 2022.jpg

On Friday morning I was up at 3:45AM and the snow hadn’t started due to virga effect. But it started drifting down by 4AM and when I went out to do the barn cats at 7:15AM we had a good 6” and it was coming down. I swept the steps and the front walk and got the cats done.

My helper friend had called and said the plows hadn’t come through and he couldn’t make it.

Toasty woodstove2 crop Feb. 2022.jpg

When I got back, I loaded the woodstove to keep it toasty in the office. The masonry heater had gotten a good thermal load from the night fire and lasted all day until about 3PM.

I think I’ve done too much over the last week because I was crashed when I got up on Friday morning. I spent the day on the couch watching the Atlas Shrugged trilogy.

Cozy lamp crop Feb. 2022.jpg

It was snowing pretty hard all morning so I had a few lamps on.

Flock of redwings and cardinal crop Feb. 2022.jpg

I had filled the birdfeeders when I did the cats and mid morning I looked out and saw this huge flock of birds on the ground. The male cardinal was there too.

Flock of redwings and juncos crop Feb. 2022.jpg

The flock was bigger black birds and the little juncos kept to the peripheral edges. There were lots of little birds up on the rope and wire.

Flock of redwings1 crop Feb. 2022.jpg

Then I caught a stripe on a wing, so I looked closer. The whole flock of big birds were redwing blackbirds. My helper friend had told me he had heard a redwing last Friday when he was here.

Flock of redwings2 crop Feb. 2022.jpg

So I zoomed in on them and sure enough, there was red on the males wings in addition to the little color on the females. They were out there all day until dark and emptied the feeders ¾ down. I’ll have to fill them again on Saturday.

Fairy and fern crop Feb. 2022.jpg

I have always liked the fern with the fairy. I originally put it there because it sticks out farther than she does and it would protect her.

Truck running1 crop Feb. 2022.jpg

Late morning Tom showed up in the truck. He was out there until 11PM Thursday night and succeeded in getting it running well enough to plow! He’d taken it home and left his van here.

Truck running2 crop Feb. 2022.jpg

He says it’s still prone to flooding out when running at a low rpm so it still needs work. But he got the plowing done. I called and cancelled the plow guy. He came back out late afternoon and ran the snowblower around. My son did the shoveling. So we are in good shape after the storm.

On Saturday, I hope to finish the stuff I’d planned to do on Friday. Plus I need to either start transcribing my garden notes from 2021 or washing the seedling trays from last year, or some of both.

Sort:  

It did snow again! Looks like snowdrops have to be a bit more patient...

And me too...sigh...

Wow, can't believe it's still snowing. Snuggled up on the couch keeping warm and watching telly sounds like heaven. I'm about to jump in the bath after being in the garden, next best thing. I've been trying to put something over my tomatoes to protect them from the pesky blackbirds. Damn those birds!

In the gardens, if it's not one thing, it's another...

Not technically telly, as I've not had a "TV" since 1983.... But I do have an extensive movie collection and a monitor....