Bits and Pieces - September 21, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Double yolk pullet egg crop Sept. 2020.jpg

We’ve been getting 4 pullet eggs from the new flock most days. One day a large egg with a broken end came in. I saved it for the old cat. It had a double yolk, common in newly laying pullets. I sold my first dozen of pullet eggs on Monday.

Yarrow, sage, oregano for dehydrator crop Sept. 2020.jpg

On Monday, in addition to doing the week’s laundry, I got this (l – r) yarrow, sage, and oregano into the dehydrator. We also sold 4 more of the pullets. There are 21 of them left to sell.

1st Fence  NE aster crop Sept. 2020.jpg

The New England aster in the first fence garden is starting to really flower now.

Tuesday I hope to get out to the Big garden with my helper friend and do some more cleaning out. I also need to load the dehydrators with marigolds, marjoram, and bee balm, if they survived the real hard frost we had Monday night.