Busy Day - March 22, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Mesclun - 1st haircut crop March 2024.jpg

Mesclun – 1st haircut

Friday morning was very busy. I got my post up, prepped for freezing the chicken stock, got chores and breakfast done and got a shower, made my lunch, and got the milk order in. I even got the dishwasher unloaded before my ride to exercise class came at 9:10AM.

While I was doing that, my general helper had arrived at 8AM and she packed up the chicken stock, washed up the roaster, and gave the mesclun its first haircut. I took half of the haircut with me as part of my lunch.

Wallas - up crop March 2024.jpg

Walla Walla onions are finally up and doing well

She was going to feed the seedlings, and then do some housecleaning, mostly vacuuming cobwebs.

TED talks crop March 2024.jpg

source
source
source

After class I read until it was time for the lunch. After lunch there were 3 TED talks:

Cloud Appreciation Society
My journey to thank all the people responsible for my morning coffee
Why we laugh

I had seen the Laughter one before, and the other 2 were pretty cool. Lots of unusual clouds and an interesting tour of his gratitude for coffee. I was home by 1PM.

Trashed kitchen crop March 2024.jpg

This is what the kitchen looked like. I took one look and said “I’ll deal with it tomorrow” and went and took a nap.

Wood stove going crop March 2024.jpg

It had gotten cloudy and was getting colder so the only thing I did was keep the stoves going.

On Saturday it’s to rain all day and be cold. I hope to get a large chunk of the filing done in the office. I’m really sick of the mess. My brother and I plan to make some sort of soup or chowder from the remaining asparagus. And I have to clean up the kitchen.

Sort:  

I love your kitchen. I could just walk into it and in the next twenty minutes, I’d be out with a yummy dish…

Very nice looking cloud against the blue sky. The kitchen table looks awesome as if it was artistic exhibition! Larry must be pleased that the house is nice and warm!

Sometimes it's too warm and then he makes like a cat rug. But mostly he lays on the coffee table near the masonry heater.

A very lucky cat; he’s so quiet and sweet too. If it were my cats, they would be waking around your big house and inspect every room everyday!

Oh he does that! Right now he’s sitting on my filing envelopes…

It has really been a while we witnessed rain here I lived though

You really need to rest first, the Kitchen can be cleaned later.
Is it because of the cold weather that made you to lit up the stoves?

Yes, it was very cold and windy, yesterday morning when I went to the barn to do chores it was 24F. Today it's been in the 30's and pouring rain all day.

It was indeed cold and windy. Kudos to you

The mesculin looks good! I hope all you get is the rain as we got hit with 6" of wet snow. March is going out like a lion this year. :-(

So far, we got 1” and it’s been raining all morning.

I always admire your efficiency as a home-maker, how you journal every activity and I'm learning quite a few tips from you👍

Glad you enjoy the posts! When my husband was alive a lot of what we did was teaching what we were doing out here.