Cleaning Oil Lamps - October 9, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Cleaning oil lamps crop Oct. 2020.jpg

Besides peeling shallots for a long time, I’d also decided to get the oil lamps we use ready. We’d had 2 power outages in the last week, and there were people in town that still didn’t have power from the storm on Wednesday night.

Oil lamps crop Dec. 06.jpg

Over the decades I’ve collected a lot of pretty cool oil lamps. These 2 are ones we use regularly in power outages.

Oil lamp crop October 2019.jpg

To burn correctly, the wicks need to be trimmed properly. I’ve found that trimming the corners and slightly rounding the top gives a nice steady light. This lamp has never been used so its wick is still square cut.

Office1 oil lamp crop April 2012.jpg

This copper lamp is a beauty, but unfortunately, the seam leaks, so it is merely decorative.

Finished  Living room32 oil lamp crop Oct. 07.jpg

Some of my lamps have a lampshade. We don’t use these much, as the light is much muted by the shade.

Office  West side4 oil lamps crop Feb. 2012.jpg

I cleaned all the glass chimneys and made sure the outsides of the reservoirs were clean and free of lamp oil. I use paraffin lamp oil usually.

I didn’t do all the lamps, just the ones we would be using. Doing the others is a winter time job.

Saturday I’m hoping to be out mulching garlic with my intern. I really want to finish those 2 gardens’ mulching!