Cleaning Up - September 20, 2023 @goldenoakfarm

in #homesteading8 months ago

Equinox dawn crop Sept. 2023.jpg

On Thursday, the Autumn Equinox, I got this shot due east as the sun was coming up. I’ve not quite gotten used to seeing the Autumn Equinox sun coming in these east windows. There had always been trees before…

Fairy on last day of summer crop Sept. 2023.jpg

Back to the last day of summer on Wednesday, here’s the fairy in the morning sun.

Spaghetti sauce2 - 21 pints crop Sept. 2023.jpg

I got the laundry started, got a shower, got chores done, and started cleaning up the kitchen. I was pretty worn out from the day before so not moving too fast.

The sauce had gone down about 1” overnight in the roaster but was still pretty watery. I turned the heat up and let it cook down to 2” from the top. That concentrated it sufficiently. It went through the blender and got reheated. Then I started filling jars. I debated about starting both kettles full, but in the end I did. Good thing, because I got 21 pints.

With the 21 pints from last week and these , plus the dozen left from last year, I now have a year’s worth of sauce. Now I can move onto some of the other stuff I need to do.

Front pasture - 1 bale crop Sept. 2023.jpg

The hayman only got 1 bale off the front pasture.

Middle pasture - 2 bales crop Sept. 2023.jpg

And he only got 2 off the middle pasture.

Hay - 8 bales from back 40 crop Sept. 2023.jpg

But he got 8 off the front part of the back 40. So the fields are mown again.

House in morning sun crop Sept. 2023.jpg

The house in the early morning sun on the last day of summer.

Goldenrod1 crop Sept. 2023.jpg

My son has been keeping the south side of the driveway cleaned up this year so I’ve not seen goldenrod along it. I found this in the weedy fence gardens.

Goldenrod3 crop Sept. 2023.jpg

Goldenrod2 crop Sept. 2023.jpg

Larry in roundtop1 crop Sept. 2023.jpg

I’ve had the shades up during the day it’s been so nice, so Larry is back in his sunning place in the roundtop window.

Larry helping pay bills crop Sept. 2023.jpg

Helping me pay bills on Monday

On Thursday I think I will finish the bills in the morning. My helper friend comes at 11:30AM and he can finish the washing up of the kettles and take the sauce to the root cellar. We also have to water the 75+ house plants and he needs to run an errand.

Then I plan to take it easy when he leaves at 2PM.

Sort:  

Congrats on getting that much sauce made for the season. It is wonderful to be able to have the produce in the root cellar. I bought apples at the farmers market yesterday and now I will get to making applesauce for the grandkids this weekend. Have a great day.

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 11000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 11500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP