Getting Ready - March 7, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

in #homesteading2 months ago

Making screenshow crop March 2024.jpg

On Thursday morning I got my post up and then I set about making a slideshow of the last 2 years of the Bulb Shows for my mom. It was my sister’s idea. She also suggested having my brother find a blooming hyacinth to set next to her as she watched it, so she’d have some of the scent.

I originally set the slideshow up on the old computer, but it was too much for it and it kept shutting down. So I had to redo it on my new computer. (They are supposed to be networked, but alas…)

The onions have grown a lot and need to be thinned again. I also have 1 heliotrope up on the porch.

Flooding started crop March 2024.jpg

It was to rain all morning then stop. I’m hoping things will drain a lot but flooding is forecast for the region so we will see. My mom is coming to stay for a few days on Thursday afternoon. Friday is supposed to be warm and sunny and I’m hoping I can set her on the front porch and I can work in the gardens adjacent in the afternoon.

I spent Thursday until 2PM working on the plant notes, taking info from my photos of each garden. I had to make new charts for the Little Trees II that were planted last year, so that took most of the morning.

My mom arrived about 3:30PM and my brother had gotten home early. We sat and visited with her until my brother went to find Chinese food for supper, some of the ice cream he used to make, and the hyacinth for the slideshow.

We were all in bed early, as she’d not had a nap and my brother has a long day on Friday.

So Friday I plan to thin onions and she can watch, and then set up the slideshow for her. She’s getting French toast for her breakfast and either eggs or sausage. She will have a sandwich for lunch, and ice cream for dessert then we’ll go outside.

When my brother gets home, we plan to make a chowder of either parsnips (if the voles left us any and it’s not too muddy to dig) or @sunscape’s Roasted Corn Chowder.

I’ll be ready for bed early, that’s for sure!

Sort:  

Oh your Mom is here? That's beautiful that she has you and your brother for company 😊

I can see you working so hard to see that your Mom is well entertained while visiting. I hope she enjoys her stay.

She always does because my brother brings home her favorite ice cream. :))

We have a lot of rain here too. But things have been much better for the past two days.

What's the Bulb Shows? I'm intrigued!

I live in what's known as the 5 college area in Massachusetts. Two of the colleges have extensive greenhouses of many different types. Each year they both put on an exhibition of spring flowering bulbs and plants, usually the first week of March and lasting about 3 weeks. Here's links:

Mt Holyoke: https://www.facebook.com/mhcbotanicgarden/

Smith College: https://garden.smith.edu/news-events/events/2024-spring-bulb-show

Ohhhh ok I see, thanks for your reply! ^^

The slide show sounds like a fabulous idea to share with your mom. Now, that you mention the chowder that sounds like a great idea for this cold weekend. Have fun in the garden.

I wish we have a lot of rain here like you people over there
I hope everywhere is not being flooded though

Your Mom must love Bulb Shows a lot for you to make slideshows of the past two years and I'm sure she would love it.
It must be great to have your Mom around for awhile 😊