Moving Mulch - May 20, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Rabbit crop May 2024.jpg

On Monday morning when I went up to do chores and get the truck to move mulch hay, this guy was sitting by the walkway. He’s been hanging around the New Herb garden a lot lately.

I’d gotten laundry started and kept chipping away at it all day. It got all washed and dried but not folded. There were a lot of loads as I was washing all the comforters to put away until autumn.

My helper arrived at 7:30AM and we headed down the road to the horse farm. We got the first loft cleaned out and the owner wanted us to clean up around the hay area in another barn, so we started that one.

Possum babies crop May 2024.jpg

The last pallet we moved, moved back. There was a large family of possum babies in a nest. We pushed them to a corner and then finished cleaning up and put the pallets back. I don’t know if the owner will let them stay. I was surprised they were still in the nest, as when they get big enough, the mother carries them around on her back. But there were, we guessed, at least 8 of them.

Possum babies2 crop May 2024.jpg

My general helper got this photo of them.

Moving mulch crop May 2024.jpg

So we got the first load back to the farm and unloaded it into the garden. Then we cleaned out half a loft in the 3rd barn and were done by 9:30AM.

Screens and laundry crop May 2024.jpg

My brother had wanted to start doing windows as the temps are to hit 90F by Wednesday. So while I got ready to do errands, my general helper brought up all the screens from the cellar. I’d be washing the mixed pile by the doorway for awning windows and my brother’s room in the afternoon.

We headed out to do errands and were back by 11:30AM in time for her to go to her appointment.

New West - columbine flowers crop May 2024.jpg

New West garden – columbine flowers

After she left I went out and washed the set of screens and while they were drying, set up in my brother’s room to wash windows. Then I rested a while and decided to get the 2 smaller windows done.

I rested a while and did another batch of the most crucial screens next. By then it was 4PM and I’d had enough, so I rested until supper time.

Larry - happy cat crop May 2024.jpg

Someone was happy when I finally sat down and stayed sat down…

My general helper will stay here on Monday night so she won’t have to drive so far on Tuesday morning. We hope to get a start around 6 – 6:30AM before it gets hot. I’m torn between thinning and weeding the peas and carrots or getting more plants in the ground in the Big garden. Both have equal importance at this point.

Sort:  

A very comfortable place to sleep, your cat is quite choosy I must say. 😁

Your helper is very faithful and diligent in her duties. Your cat is so pretty, what's the name? 🐈 🐈

His name is Larry.

Feels like you had a long day and I could tell from your write up. That’s a good one and I love the picture of your cat
It looks cute

Your garden is actually very delightful and I am so sure a whole lot of effort must have really been invested in taking care of the garden

Just like that, taking care of the garden is not easy, it takes a lot of time and effort and then it is so beautiful.

Oh, how cute is that baby opossum? There is so much to do in the garden. Planting is as important as thinning out. I need to do that with the beets, ugh! I think a rabbit or chipmunk is eating the tops off my peppers. I have to go to a nursery to replace them can you believe it? Little buggers!

At the moment, the rabbits are too big to get through the fence. Knock wood, I've not had much trouble with chipmunks eating garden stuff, just making millions of holes everywhere...

That little guy must find your garden very delightful and who wouldn't? The columbine flowers are beautiful, they have a droopy look. Are they usually like these?
Larry sleeping peacefully, tired too I guess,.. lol.

I dunno about tired, but he was mighty happy to have a lap to lay on, in hopes of lots of patting. These columbine are the wild variety. The hybrids are many colors and styles.

It's funny how that guy is comfortably seated on the grass like he owns it, bunny is a delightful animal.
Look at the cat down there taking a nap on the human bed....lol.

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 12500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 13000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP