Paperwork - March 24, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Paper mess crop March 2024.jpg

Back before my husband died and we were building a house, I had to file taxes. So first thing every January, I’d sit down and sort out all the collected paper for the year before and get it filed, then set about getting everything ready to go to the tax guy. Every January, without fail.

But I haven’t had to file taxes in several years so filing the paper lost its importance. On Sunday, a cold sunny day that started at 24F at 7AM, I finally broke down and started filing the mess. 2023 was finished and put on the stairs to the attic. 2024 is the mess in front of my chair. Then I took a break.

Tom showed up mid afternoon and decided to finish the stuff with my new computer. So while he was doing that, I started looking for and filing properly, all my plant info. Stuff about orders, inventory, starting charts, maps, etc. I eventually found it all and got it put away where it belonged, probably for the first time since 2020.

The office doesn’t look much neater yet, I’ve still got to deal with 2024’s papers to date and I have a LOT of papers from the building that never got put away. But I’ve made headway on the things that bugged me the most.

Tom left at 5PM, successful at the computer, and I got a shower and was beyond done.

On another note, remember the swollen water in the ditches and on the road from Saturday night? Sunday morning at 7AM I went up to see how bad it was. There was nothing there, nothing. The ditch had a trickle, the driveway was bone dry, the little brook in the swamp looked like it always does. Amazing!

On Monday, I start the beef bone stock, clean up the kitchen, start laundry, have exercise class at 9:10AM, have to take down the birdfeeders (I think I ran out of seed, now I’m not sure if I filled them for the last time or not…), run errands with my general helper at noon, start prepping for next Monday’s big seed starting, go shopping for ingredients for the stock, and prep vegs for it. Hmmmm, yeah…

The cold continues until the end of next week, so no outside work it looks like.

Sort:  

It must have really been a tons of work and effort for you to be fixing a lot of paperwork

Sorting and filing papers is not my favorite task, so I tend to put it off. I know how good it feels to get it done, so congratulations on progress!

A lot of paperwork work can become a big mess if left undone for a long time, but now that you have started sorting them out, I'm sure you will be done soonest.

You have quite a lot of activities lined up for Monday plus the paperwork, I wish you luck.
I would love to see how you prepare your beef bone stock.

Fixing a paperwork must be a lot of work for you
You’re indeed a strong woman

It must be hard on you, doing this all alone and in these number of years, the paperwork have piled up. But now that you are started, gradually you will get the work done.

I've just got the papers for this year, 2024, and the ones from building the house left to do, so it's not so bad now. I've always done the paperwork alone, even when my husband was alive.

You mean you have been working on years' tax papers? I know that would be lots of work ? You are capable though😊

Just last year’s.