Projects Continued - November 24, 2023 @goldenoakfarm

in #homesteading6 months ago

BAR in Darcy's sweater crop Nov. 2023.jpg

On Friday morning I worked on the blog until my mom woke up. After her breakfast, she came in and watched me work on the posts. My helper friend arrived at 9:30AM and he and I got all the house plants watered. Then he went out and started cleaning out the Big garden. I went back to the blog and finally got caught up.

Decorating mess2 crop Nov. 2023.jpg

He finished about 11AM and I had him bring down all the boxes of house decorations. I would work on those until he returned at 3PM. I emptied the boxes onto the kitchen table and then started finding places for them.

Tray hung crop Nov. 2023.jpg

This tray had been laying on the woodbox in the living room for a couple years. I finally got it hung up. Because it is so deep, it took a bit of finagling.

Tray detail crop Nov. 2023.jpg

This is a family piece painted by my paternal grandmother.

Advent calendar crop Nov. 2023.jpg

I’d hung this big advent calendar in the roundtop window the last couple years, but this year I have a huge rosemary there. So it will be on the back door to the porch.

I made a big dinner of leftovers for lunch because my brother was supposed to work late. I planned to make a light supper for my mom and I.

Decorating mess1 crop Nov. 2023.jpg

My sister used to make Christmas cards and I saved them all and put them up all around the house.

Dining room floor repaired crop Nov. 2023.jpg

The contractor arrived at 2:45PM and he was going to repair the floor, get the last 2 boards in place. Now I can slide the china cabinet into the living room and start to set up the Christmas tree.

Big garden - 4th section done crop Nov. 2023.jpg

My helper friend returned at 3PM and I went outside with him. He got the 4th section mulched.

Big garden - last section to do crop Nov. 2023.jpg

I finished the cleaning out and weeding of the 4th and 5th sections. I still have the last one by the driveway to do. The 5th section needs to be mulched next. The mulch hay farmer said he couldn’t bring the next 20 bales for a couple weeks, so we will have to bring hay from the barn to finish.

My brother picked up Chinese food for supper and we had more pumpkin pie for dessert. It was a very long busy day.

On Saturday my mom and brother go to Connecticut in the afternoon. I hope to get more decorating done in the morning.

Sort:  

What a busy and festive time you're having! 🌲 I love the personal touches in your decorations, like the family-painted tray and the Christmas cards from your sister. It's heartwarming to see the house come alive with memories and holiday spirit

I have many very old decorations that have come from family. They are some of my favorite things.

Mom looks like she is enjoying her visit with you. Happy decorating!

She seems to be. She's mostly happy if there's lots of good food. :))